Richard Peck

Born in Decatur, IIlinois, Richard Peck has written over 18 novels for young readers. He is the winner of the 1990 Margaret A. Edwards Award, a prestigious award sponsored by the Young Adult Library Services Association of the American Library Association in cooperation with School Library Journal; the 1990 National Council of Teachers of English/ALAN Award for outstanding contributions to young adult literature; and the Mystery Writers of America Edgar Allan Poe Award.


Peck says, "I want to write novels that ask honest questions about serious issues. A novel is never an answer; it's always a question." In The Last Safe Place on Earth, Peck deals with the serious issue of censorship, and young readers will have many questions long after the close the book.

12 results   page 1 of 1  
view sort by
cover_9780804123754
Author: Richard Peck | Narrator: Russ Bain
Release Date: July 09, 2013
Newbery Award-winning author Richard Peck is at his very best in this fast-paced mystery adventure. Fans of The Tale of Desperaux, A Little Princess, and Stuart Little will all be captivated by this memorable story of a lovable orphan mouse on an amazing quest.
cover_9780804123754
cover_9780307968265
Author: Richard Peck | Narrator: Jayne Entwistle
Release Date: January 10, 2012
Helena is big-sister mouse to three younger siblings, living a snug and well-fed life within the ancient walls of the Cranston family home. When the Cranston humans decide to sail away to England to find a husband for one of their daughters, the Cranston mice stow away in the name of family solidarity.
cover_9780307968265
cover_9780307745828
Author: Richard Peck | Narrator: Ariadne Meyers
Release Date: October 26, 2010
Kerry thinks life has finally begun when she is noticed by the three coolest girls in the school. For once she’s in on the jokes and sitting at the right table, and she is willing to do whatever it takes to be part of their clique.

But how much will it take.
$13
ISBN: 9780307745828
Unabridged Download
cover_9780307745828
cover_9780739385463
Author: Richard Peck | Narrator: Ron McLarty
Release Date: September 22, 2009
One of the most adored children’s book characters of all time is the eccentric, forceful, bighearted Grandma Dowdel, star of the Newbery Medal—winning A Year Down Yonder and Newbery Honor—winning A Long Way from Chicago.
cover_9780739385463
cover_9780739346938
Author: Richard Peck | Narrator: Lincoln Hoppe
Release Date: March 27, 2007
Davy Bowman’s dad and brother hung the moon. Dad looks forward to Halloween more than a kid, and Davy’s brother, Bill, flies B-17s. Davy adores these two heroes and tries his best to follow their lead, especially now.
World War II has invaded Davy’s homefront boyhood.
$13.50
ISBN: 9780739346938
Unabridged Download
cover_9780739346938
cover_9780307284075
Author: Richard Peck | Narrator: Lara Everly
Release Date: April 25, 2006
Peewee idolizes Jake, a big brother whose dream of auto mechanic glory are fueled by the hard road coming to link their Indiana town and futures with the twentieth century. And motoring down the road comes Irene Ridpath, a young librarian with plans to astonish them all and turn Peewee's life upside down.
$13.50
ISBN: 9780307284075
Unabridged Download
cover_9780307284075
cover_9780307243201
Author: Richard Peck | Narrator: Ron McLarty
Release Date: May 10, 2005
What happens when Joey and his sister, Mary Alice--two city slickers from Chicago--make their annual summer visits to Grandma Dowdel's seemingly sleepy Illinois town.

August 1929. They see their first corpse, and he isn't resting easy.
August 1930.
cover_9780307243201
cover_9780307207036
Author: Richard Peck | Narrator: Various
Release Date: April 05, 2005
Though Richard Peck is best known as a novelist, he has been writing short stories—rousing, provocative, and thoroughly entertaining—throughout his career. “Priscilla and the Wimps,” his first, is perhaps the most-read children’s short story of all time.
$15.95
ISBN: 9780307207036
Unabridged Download
cover_9780307207036
cover_9781400091041
Author: Richard Peck | Narrator: Dylan Baker
Release Date: November 23, 2004
The year is 1904, and Russell is 15. Though he dreams of leaving small-town Indiana to become part of a large farm crew in the Dakotas, he's forced to stay in school, where his sister Tansy has just become the new teacher. Through the autumn, Russell observes the strange goings-on in the classroom, including a fight for Tansy's affection between a rough-and-tumble guy named Glenn and Russell's own best friend, Charlie.
$12.50
ISBN: 9781400091041
Unabridged Download
cover_9781400091041
cover_9781400084968
Author: Richard Peck | Narrator: Lois Smith
Release Date: April 27, 2004
Mary Alice and Grandma Dowdel return for more astonishing, laugh-out-loud adventures when fifteen-year-old Mary Alice moves in with her spicy grandmother for the year. Her extended visit is filled with moonlit schemes, romances both foiled and founded, and a whole parade of fools made to suffer in unusual (and always hilarious) ways.
cover_9781400084968
cover_9781400086276
Author: Richard Peck | Narrator: Lina Patel
Release Date: March 23, 2004
Richard Peck is a master of stories about people in transition, but perhaps never before has he told a tale of such dramatic change as this one, set during the first year of the Civil War. The whole country is changing in 1861-even the folks from a muddy little Illinois settlement on the banks of the Mississippi.
$14.95
ISBN: 9781400086276
Unabridged Download
cover_9781400086276
cover_9780807209530
Author: Richard Peck | Narrator: Estelle Parsons
Release Date: November 26, 2002
Thirteen-year-old Rosie Beckett has never strayed further from her family's farm than a horse can pull a cart. Then a letter from her Aunt Euterpe arrives, and everything changes. It's 1893, the year of the World's Columbian Exposition-the "wonder of the age"-a.
$12.95
ISBN: 9780807209530
Unabridged Download
cover_9780807209530