Must Listens: First In A Sci-Fi or Fantasy Series

For those of us looking to break out of the everyday reading/listening funk, check out these awesome first-in-a-series sci-fi picks to get you going. So, skip the Netflix and try out these binge-worthy sci-fi audios.

Foundation by Isaac Asimov
Book One in the Foundation Trilogy

cover_9780307749703 Science fiction at its best. Isaac Asimov began his Foundation series at the age of twenty-one, not realizing it would one day be considered a cornerstone of science fiction. For twelve thousand years the Galactic Empire has ruled supreme. Now it is dying. But only Hari Seldon, creator of the revolutionary science of psychohistory, can see into the future—to a dark age of ignorance, barbarism, and warfare that will last thirty thousand years. To preserve knowledge and save mankind, Seldon gathers the best minds in the Empire and brings them to a bleak planet at the edge of the galaxy to serve as a beacon of hope for future generations. He calls this sanctuary the Foundation.


Star Wars Heir to the Empire by Timothy Zahn
Book One of the Thrawn Trilogy

cover_9780307933560This is the #1 New York Times bestselling novel—unabridged for the first time—that reignited the Star Wars publishing phenomenon. The biggest event in the history of Star Wars books, Heir to the Empire follows the adventures of Luke Skywalker, Han Solo, and Princess Leia after they led the Rebel Alliance to victory in Star Wars: Episode VI Return of the Jedi.

 


Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel
Book One of the Themis Files

cover_9780147522627A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.  Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.  But some can never stop searching for answers.


The Dragonbone Chair by Tad Williams
Book One of Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn

cover_9781524735395A war fueled by the dark powers of sorcery is about to engulf the peaceful land of OstenArd, for Prester John, the High King, slayer of the dread dragon Shurakai, lies dying. And with his death, an ancient evil will at last be unleashed, as the Storm King, undead ruler of the elvish-like Siti, seeks to regain his lost realm through a pact with one of human royal blood. Then, driven by spell-inspired jealousy and hate, prince will fight prince, while around them the very land begins to die. Only a small scattered group, the League of the Scroll, recognizes the true danger awaiting OstenArd. And to Simon—a castle scullion unknowingly apprenticed to a member of this League—will go the task of spearheading the quest for the solution to a riddle of long-lost swords of power…and a quest that will see him fleeing and facing enemies straight out of a legend-maker’s worst nightmares.


The Maze Runner by James Dashner
Book One of the Maze Runner Series

cover_9780399567056 Perfect for fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games, this special movie tie-in edition of the New York Times bestseller The Maze Runner features an eight-page full-color insert with photos from the film. The first and second books, The Maze Runner and The Scorch Trials, are now major motion pictures featuring the star of MTV’s Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien, as Thomas; Kaya Scodelario as Teresa; Aml Ameen as Alby; Will Poulter as Gally; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster as Newt. Also look for James Dashner’s newest novel, The Eye of Minds, Book One in the Mortality Doctrine series.

Rainn Wilson, The King of Bassoons?

Most of us know him from The Office, some may even know him from his stint on Six Feet Under. Perhaps you’ve read his New York Times bestselling SoulPancake or count yourself among his 4 million Twitter followers. Regardless of where you know him from, you know that Rainn Wilson is unique.

In Bassoon KingRainn Wilson tells you just that.  He also discusses his upbringing in Washington and Illinois with his free-thinking parents, his times as a young actor in New York, and his connection with the Baha’i faith in which he was raised in.  All of this and more amounts to his uniquely awesome persona and comedic antics.  Certainly something to check out.

Listen to a clip:

 

Want more Rainn Wilson?  Check out his narration of Dr. Seuss’s What Pet Should I Get? and One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish 

 

Tagged: , , , , ,
For Those About To Rock Comic-Con!

Comic-Con is here! Also known as Comic-Con International: San Diego 2015, it’s 4 days of a non-stop-pop-and-counter-culture-clash bonanza. Be a con-prepper by listening to some genre-friendly audiobooks. A great sci-fi audio can also pass the time on the trip to and fro. And console you if you’re home wishing you were at the show.

Read more

New Releases for July

This July when you are sitting on the beach, lounging poolside, or commuting to work dreaming about the beaches and pools, listen to an audiobook to pass the time.  There is something for everyone and for those attending San Diego Comic Con make sure to check out Armada by Ernie Cline and narrated by Wil Wheaton. Read more