“I’m convinced that listening to storytelling is in our DNA.”–Adrienne Kress, author of THE EXPLORERS: THE DOOR IN THE ALLEY

Author Adrienne Kress explains why audiobooks are a gateway for reluctant readers. Plus, producer Nick Martorelli shares how they found the perfect voice for THE EXPLORERS: THE DOOR IN THE ALLEY, the first audio in this hilarious and action-packed new series! Read more

Tagged: , , , , , ,
WILL WILDER Author Raymond Arroyo On His Love of Spoken Stories

Many Chapters…Many Voices

By Raymond Arroyo

Many chapters of the Will Wilder series were birthed in the corner of a coffee shop. The corner is the best place to work, since it can get loud at times. Once I travel to Perilous Falls, pounding away at the keyboard, I often hear the character’s voices in my imagination. Having been trained as an actor, I find myself involuntarily mouthing dialogue in the voice of the characters as I write. I literally play all the parts by the time I get to editing — doing my full “multiple personality” routine at the end of the day.

Read more

Tagged: , , , , , ,
Author Adam Gidwitz on narrating THE INQUISITOR’S TALE and how his “crazy idea” led to a very special musical guest on the audiobook

We’re thrilled to share this special author guest post!

By Adam Gidwitz

Last summer, as I was coming into the homestretch of composing my new novel, The Inquisitor’s Tale, my wife took me to a concert. She and I have slightly different taste in concerts. I like concerts where I can sing at the top of my lungs and dance around like an idiot. This was not that kind of concert.

Read more

Tagged: , , ,
How to Hang a Witch’s Adriana Mather: from researching to narrating her audiobook

I never imagined that I would write How to Hang a Witch or that I would narrate it. In 2013 I broke my arm snowboarding – two plates, 12 screws later and I was couch-bound for two months. This was a no bueno situation for me. I’m very active, always taking on new projects, and usually bossing someone around (my mother will vouch for this). When I could use my arm again, I found myself in a strange spot – everything in my life was on hold and nothing was demanding my attention. For the first time in forever, I had open space before me.

Read more

Tagged: , ,
“It was an unbelievable collaboration from the word go.”
—Author Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock on THE SMELL OF OTHER PEOPLE’S HOUSES audiobook

Being a teenager in Alaska isn’t like growing up anywhere else. Transport listeners to America’s Last Frontier in this unique and spellbinding YA debut, perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, and Sherman Alexie. Read by Alaskan Native Erin Tripp and a full cast, the audio delivers an authentic representation of a young Inupiaq girl’s life—a perfect addition to your audio diversity shelf. Find out how this special production was cast and hear a clip from an audiobook that the author called “a first of its kind collaboration.” Read more

Tagged: , , , , , ,