Award-winning author Susin Nielsen has written a laugh-out-loud and heartrending novel for fans of Robyn Schneider’s Extraordinary Means and Cammie McGovern’s Say What You Will.
 
Beware: Life ahead.
 
Sixteen-year-old Petula de Wilde is anything but wild. A former crafting fiend with a happy life, Petula shut herself off from the world after a family tragedy. She sees danger in all the ordinary things, like crossing the street, a bug bite, or a germy handshake. She knows: life is out to get you.
 
The worst part of her week is her comically lame mandatory art therapy class with a small group of fellow misfits. Then a new boy, Jacob, appears at school and in her therapy group. He seems so normal and confident, though he has a prosthetic arm; and soon he teams up with Petula on a hilarious project, gradually inspiring her to let go of some of her fears. But as the two grow closer, a hidden truth behind why he’s in the group could derail them, unless Petula takes a huge risk. . .

Praise:
"Another lovely outing from Nielsen." —Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review
 
"Nielsen excels at depicting troubled, clever teenagers in familiar environments." —School Library Journal, Starred Review

"Grief and guilt permeate Nielsen’s (We Are All Made of Molecules) empathic and deeply moving story, balanced by sharply funny narration and dialogue." —Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"The dialogue is effortless, the plot moves at a fast pace, and the scenes come alive. . . . a poignant exploration into the nuances of healing." Quill and Quire, Starred Review

“Heartbreaking and hopeful, this is a solid choice for readers looking for a book to make them cry and laugh at the same time.” Booklist
You may also like

cover_9780553556292

cover_9781524709976

cover_9781101925331

cover_9780307280701

You may also like

cover_9780553556292

cover_9781524709976

cover_9781101925331

cover_9780307280701