"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole."  --VOYA

For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love.

Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you’re in the eighth grade.
 
Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he’s called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. 
 
One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change.  

A JLG Selection! 
An Indie Next Pick!

Amazon Best Book of the Month! 
CBC's May Hot Off the Press! 
An NAIBA Seasonal Pick! 
A New York Public Library Best book for Kids, 2016!
Another Indie Favorite Title

Amazon's Top 20 Children's Books of 2016 

"Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion."--Kirkus 

"A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."--Booklist, starred 

“Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation…[A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning.”--PW 
 
"This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages."--VOYA
 
"Lily and Dunkin is a delight. Here’s a book for anyone who’s ever struggled with being different--or anyone who’s ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. . . . Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring.” —Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She’s Not There and Stuck in the Middle with You
You may also like

cover_9781101917411

cover_9780399566073

cover_9780147519245

cover_9780698154476

You may also like

cover_9781101917411

cover_9780399566073

cover_9780147519245

cover_9780698154476