85 results   page 1 of 8   >
view sort by
Biography & Autobiography - Literary
cover_9780525595724
Author: John Banville
Release Date: February 27, 2018
From the internationally acclaimed and Man Booker prize-winning author of The Sea, and the Benjamin Black mysteries--a vividly evocative memoir that unfolds around the author's recollections, experience, and imaginings of Dublin.

As much about the life of the city as it is about a life lived, sometimes, in the city, John Banville's "quasi-memoir" is as layered, emotionally rich, witty, and unexpected as any of his novels.
cover_9780525595724
cover_9780525529415
Author: Stephen W. Hines
Release Date: February 06, 2018
The beloved author of the Little House books was not only one of America's great pioneer storytellers but a woman of vibrant faith.

A Prairie Girl's Faith provides the first extended, in depth discussion of the Christian faith of one of America's most beloved pioneer women--Laura Ingalls Wilder.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525529415
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525529415
cover_9780525588801

Author: Maggie O'Farrell | Narrator: Daisy Donovan
Release Date: February 06, 2018
An extraordinary memoir--told entirely in near-death experiences--from one of Britain's best-selling novelists, for fans of Wild, When Breath Becomes Air, and The Year of Magical Thinking.

We are never closer to life than when we brush up against the possibility of death.
cover_9780525588801

cover_9780735205772
Author: Dave Eggers
Release Date: January 30, 2018
From the bestselling author of The Circle, the true story of a young Yemeni-American man, raised in San Francisco, who dreams of resurrecting the ancient art of Yemeni coffee but finds himself trapped in Sana'a by civil war, and his riveting tale of escape.
cover_9780735205772
cover_9780525498384
Author: Maya Jasanoff | Narrator: Laurel Lekfow
Release Date: November 07, 2017
“Enlightening, compassionate, superb” —John Le Carré

A visionary exploration of the life and times of Joseph Conrad, his turbulent age of globalization and our own, from one of the most exciting young historians writing today

Migration, terrorism, the tensions between global capitalism and nationalism, and a communications revolution.
$22.50
ISBN: 9780525498384
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525498384
cover_9781524783631

Author: James Atlas | Narrator: George Newbern
Release Date: August 29, 2017
The biographer—so often in the shadows, kibitzing, casting doubt, proving facts—comes to the stage in this funny, poignant, endearing tale of how writers’ lives get documented. James Atlas, the celebrated chronicler of Saul Bellow and Delmore Schwartz, takes us back to his own childhood in suburban Chicago, where he fell in love with literature and, early on, found in himself the impulse to study writers’ lives.
$22.50
ISBN: 9781524783631
Unabridged Download
cover_9781524783631

cover_9781524776640

Author: Thomas E. Ricks | Narrator: James Lurie
Release Date: May 23, 2017
New York Times Bestseller

A dual biography of Winston Churchill and George Orwell, who preserved democracy from the threats of authoritarianism, from the left and right alike.


Both George Orwell and Winston Churchill came close to death in the mid-1930's—Orwell shot in the neck in a trench line in the Spanish Civil War, and Churchill struck by a car in New York City.
cover_9781524776640

cover_9781524781101

Author: Benjamin Taylor | Narrator: Benjamin Taylor
Release Date: May 23, 2017
A memoir of one tumultuous year of boyhood in Fort Worth, Texas, opening with a handshake with JFK, and recalling the changes and revelations of the months that followed.
 
“A marvel of a book—elegant, touching, singular.
cover_9781524781101

cover_9780525530237

Author: David Rockefeller | Narrator: Dan Woren
Release Date: May 09, 2017
Born into one of the wealthiest families in America—he was the youngest son of Standard Oil scion John D. Rockefeller, Jr., and the celebrated patron of modern art Abby Aldrich Rockefeller—David Rockefeller has carried his birthright into a distinguished life of his own.
cover_9780525530237

cover_9781524774486

Author: Terry Brooks | Narrator: Kimberly Farr and Dan Woren
Release Date: May 02, 2017
In Sometimes the Magic Works, New York Times bestselling author Terry Brooks shares his secrets for creating unusual, memorable fiction. Spanning topics from the importance of daydreaming to the necessity of writing an outline, from the fine art of showing instead of merely telling to creating believable characters who make readers care what happens to them, Brooks draws upon his own experiences, hard lessons learned, and delightful discoveries made in creating the beloved Shannara and Magic Kingdom of Landover series, The Word and The Void trilogy, and the bestselling Star Wars novel The Phantom Menace.
cover_9781524774486

cover_9781524783044

Author: Helena Kelly | Narrator: Emma Bering
Release Date: May 02, 2017

A brilliant, illuminating reassessment of the life and work of Jane Austen that makes clear how Austen has been misread for the past two centuries and that shows us how she intended her books to be read, revealing, as well, how subversive and daring--how truly radical--a writer she was.
$22.50
ISBN: 9781524783044
Unabridged Download
cover_9781524783044

cover_9781524751746

Author: Dani Shapiro | Narrator: Dani Shapiro
Release Date: April 11, 2017
The best-selling novelist and memoirist delivers her most intimate and powerful work. a piercing, life-affirming memoir about marriage and memory, about the frailty and elasticity of our most essential bonds, and about the accretion, over time, of both sorrow and love.
cover_9781524751746