28 results   page 1 of 3   >
view sort by
Biography & Autobiography - Royalty
cover_9780525526674
Author: Robert Lacey | Narrator: Alex Jennings
Release Date: October 17, 2017
The official companion to the critically acclaimed Netflix drama about the reign of Queen Elizabeth II, The Crown by Peter Morgan, featuring additional historical background and exclusive images.
 
Starring Claire Foy as Queen Elizabeth II and John Lithgow as Winston Churchill, Netflix's original series The Crown, created by Peter Morgan and growing out of his Oscar-winning movie The Queen starring Helen Mirren, paints a unique and intimate portrait of Britain's longest-reigning monarch.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525526674
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525526674
cover_9780307934215
Author: Sally Bedell Smith | Narrator: Sally Bedell Smith and Rosalyn Landor
Release Date: April 04, 2017
From the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen comes the first major biography of Prince Charles in more than twenty years—perfect for fans of The Crown.

Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British royal family to give us a new look at Prince Charles, the oldest heir to the throne in more than three hundred years.
cover_9780307934215
cover_9780525496960
Author: Stanley Weintraub | Narrator: Donada Peters
Release Date: January 24, 2017
This biography of Victoria highlights the many dramas of her life. For example, she was fatherless at eight months and treated poorly by her family, but survived to become the only English queen comparable to Elizabeth I. The character of Victoria herself, stubborn and vital, is also drawn out.
$32.50
ISBN: 9780525496960
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525496960
cover_9780525493556
Author: Kate Williams | Narrator: Katharine McEwan
Release Date: December 27, 2016
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The perfect companion to the PBS Masterpiece series Victoria • A gripping account of Queen Victoria’s rise and early years in power from CNN’s official royal historian

“Kate Williams has perfected the art of historical biography.
$25
ISBN: 9780525493556
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525493556
cover_9780735288980
Author: Anne Somerset | Narrator: Hannah Curtis
Release Date: September 06, 2016

She ascended the thrones of England, Scotland and Ireland in 1702, at age thirty-seven, Britain’s last Stuart monarch, and five years later united two of her realms, England and Scotland, as a sovereign state, creating the Kingdom of Great Britain.

$30
ISBN: 9780735288980
Unabridged Download
cover_9780735288980
cover_9780399567407
Author: John Guy | Narrator: Alex Jennings
Release Date: May 24, 2016
COSTA AWARD FINALIST 
ECONOMIST BOOK OF THE YEAR 
FINANCIAL TIMES BOOK OF THE YEAR

 Film rights acquired by Gold Circle Films, the team behind 
My Big Fat Greek Wedding

“A fresh, thrilling portrait… Guy’s Elizabeth is deliciously human.
$25
ISBN: 9780399567407
Unabridged Download
cover_9780399567407
cover_9780399567704
Author: Simon Sebag Montefiore | Narrator: Simon Russell Beale
Release Date: May 03, 2016

The Romanovs were the most successful dynasty of modern times, ruling a sixth of the world’s surface for three centuries. How did one family turn a war-ruined principality into the world’s greatest empire. And how did they lose it all.

$32.50
ISBN: 9780399567704
Unabridged Download
cover_9780399567704
cover_9781524708443
Author: Amanda Foreman | Narrator: Wanda McCaddon
Release Date: April 12, 2016
A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK

Now a major motion picture starring Keira Knightley and Ralph Fiennes


Lady Georgiana Spencer was the great-great-great-great-aunt of Diana, Princess of Wales, and was nearly as famous in her day.
$25
ISBN: 9781524708443
Unabridged Download
cover_9781524708443
cover_9780553398472
Author: Kirstin Downey | Narrator: Kimberly Farr
Release Date: October 28, 2014
An engrossing and revolutionary biography of Isabella of Castile, the controversial Queen of Spain who sponsored Christopher Columbus's journey to the New World, established the Spanish Inquisition, and became one of the most influential female rulers in history

Born at a time when Christianity was dying out and the Ottoman Empire was aggressively expanding, Isabella was inspired in her youth by tales of Joan of Arc, a devout young woman who unified her people and led them to victory against foreign invaders.
$30
ISBN: 9780553398472
Unabridged Download
cover_9780553398472
cover_9780804166454
Author: Michael Farquhar | Narrator: Enn Reitel
Release Date: July 08, 2014
“Michael Farquhar doesn’t write about history the way, say, Doris Kearns Goodwin does. He writes about history the way Doris Kearns Goodwin’s smart-ass, reprobate kid brother might. I, for one, prefer it.”—Gene Weingarten, two-time Pulitzer Prize winner and Washington Post columnist
 
Scandal.
$22.50
ISBN: 9780804166454
Unabridged Download
cover_9780804166454
cover_9780804191098
Author: Linda Rodriguez McRobbie | Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Release Date: November 19, 2013
You think you know her story. You’ve read the Brothers Grimm, you’ve watched the Disney cartoons, you cheered as these virtuous women lived happily ever after. But the lives of real princesses couldn’t be more different. Sure, many were graceful and benevolent leaders—but just as many were ruthless in their quest for power, and all of them had skeletons rattling in their royal closets.
$20
ISBN: 9780804191098
Unabridged Download
cover_9780804191098
cover_9780804149037
Author: Jung Chang | Narrator: Jolene Kim
Release Date: October 29, 2013

A New York Times Notable Book

Empress Dowager Cixi (1835–1908) is the most important woman in Chinese history. She ruled China for decades and brought a medieval empire into the modern age.
At the age of sixteen, in a nationwide selection for royal consorts, Cixi was chosen as one of the emperor’s numerous concubines.

$25
ISBN: 9780804149037
Unabridged Download
cover_9780804149037