131 results   page 1 of 11   >
view sort by
Fiction - Short Stories (single author)
cover_9780525634218
Author: Joseph O'Neill
Release Date: June 12, 2018
A masterly collection of eleven stories about the way we live now from the best-selling author of Netherland.

From bourgeois facial hair trends to parental sleep deprivation, O'Neill closely observes the mores of his characters, whose vacillations and second thoughts expose the mysterious pettiness, the underlying violence, and, sometimes, the surprising beauty of ordinary life in the early twenty-first century.
$15
ISBN: 9780525634218
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525634218
cover_9780525626107
Author: Lauren Groff | Narrator: Lauren Groff
Release Date: June 05, 2018
New York Times bestseller Lauren Groff returns with a new book as bold and consuming as her novel Fates and Furies.

Lauren Groff is "a writer of rare gifts,"* and Florida -- her first new book since her "clear the ground triumph"* Fates and Furies -- is an electrifying, expanding read.
cover_9780525626107
cover_9780525627319
Author: Nick White
Release Date: June 05, 2018
Praised by the Washington Post as "Tennessee Williams . . . transposed to the twenty-first-century South," Nick White returns with a stunning short-story collection that tackles issues of masculinity, identity, and place, with a sharp eye for social commentary and a singular handling of character.
$20
ISBN: 9780525627319
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525627319
cover_9780525630999
Author: A. M. Homes
Release Date: June 05, 2018
A razor-sharp story collection from a writer who is always "furiously good" (Zadie Smith, bestselling author of Swing Time).

With her signature humor and compassion, A.M. Homes exposes the heart of an uneasy America in her new collection - exploring our attachments to each other through characters who aren't quite who they hoped to become, though there is no one else they can be.
$20
ISBN: 9780525630999
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525630999
cover_9780525635291
Author: Jim Butcher
Release Date: June 05, 2018
An all-new Dresden Files story headlines this urban fantasy short story collection starring the Windy City's favorite wizard.

The world of Harry Dresden, Chicago's only professional wizard, is rife with intrigue--and creatures of all supernatural stripes.
$25
ISBN: 9780525635291
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525635291
cover_9780525527046
Author: Jen Silverman
Release Date: May 01, 2018
For readers of Miranda July, Rebecca Lee, and Mary Gaitskill, a debut short-story collection that is a mesmerizing blend of wit, transgression, and heart. 

A passive-aggressive couple in the midst of a divorce compete over whose new fling is more exotic.
$20
ISBN: 9780525527046
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525527046
cover_9780525527770
Author: Curtis Sittenfeld
Release Date: April 24, 2018
A dazzling collection of short stories from the New York Times bestselling author of Prep, American Wife, and Eligible

Curtis Sittenfeld has established a reputation as a sharp chronicler of the modern age who humanizes her subjects even as she skewers them.
cover_9780525527770
cover_9780525589105
Author: Tatyana Tolstaya | Narrator: Anya Migdal
Release Date: March 20, 2018
From one of modern Russia's finest writers, a spellbinding collection of seventeen stories, her first to be translated into English in more than twenty years.

Ordinary realities and yearnings to transcend them lead to miraculous other worlds in this dazzling collection of stories.
$20
ISBN: 9780525589105
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525589105
cover_9780525528036
Author: Will Mackin | Narrator: Will Mackin
Release Date: March 06, 2018
“A near-miraculous, brilliant debut.”—George Saunders, Man Booker Prize–winning author of Lincoln in the Bardo

“In one exquisitely crafted story after the next, Will Mackin maps the surreal psychological terrain of soldiers in a perpetual war.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525528036
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525528036
cover_9780525528401
Author: Ramona Ausubel
Release Date: March 06, 2018
An inventive story collection that spans the globe as it explores love, childhood, and parenthood with an electric mix of humor and emotion.

Acclaimed for the grace, wit, and magic of her novels, Ramona Ausubel introduces us to a geography both fantastic and familiar in eleven new stories, some of them previously published in The New Yorker and The Paris Review.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525528401
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525528401
cover_9780525589969
Author: Daniel H. Wilson
Release Date: March 06, 2018
From the New York Times bestselling author of Robopocalypse comes a fascinating and fantastic collection that explores complex emotional and intellectual landscapes at the intersection of artificial intelligence and human life. A VINTAGE BOOKS ORIGINAL.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525589969
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525589969
cover_9780525527435
Author: Michael Andreasen | Narrator: Various
Release Date: February 27, 2018
An astonishing fiction debut from a UC Irvine MFA graduate and recent contributor to The New Yorker.

Bewitching and playful, with its feet only slightly tethered to the world we know, The Sea Beast Takes a Lover explores hope, love, and loss across a series of surreal landscapes and wild metamorphoses.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525527435
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525527435