68 results   page 1 of 6   >
view sort by
History - Military - World War II
cover_9780525641728
Author: Andrew Roberts
Release Date: November 06, 2018
A landmark reconsideration of the iconic war leader, based on extensive new material--from private letters to war cabinet meetings-- by the bestselling, award-winning author of Napoleon and The Storm of War.

When we seek an example of unalloyed courage, the man who comes to mind is Winston Churchill.
$32.50
ISBN: 9780525641728
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525641728
cover_9781984828279
Author: Sarah Helm
Release Date: October 23, 2018

From an award-winning journalist comes this real-life cloak-and-dagger tale of Vera Atkins, one of Britain’s premiere secret agents during World War II. 
As the head of the French Section of the British Special Operations Executive, Vera Atkins recruited, trained, and mentored special operatives whose job was to organize and arm the resistance in Nazi-occupied France.

$22.50
ISBN: 9781984828279
Unabridged Download
cover_9781984828279
cover_9780525639916
Author: Charles Glass
Release Date: September 11, 2018
The title description for this item is not yet available.
cover_9780525639916
cover_9780525641506
Author: Antony Beevor | Narrator: Sean Barrett
Release Date: September 11, 2018
The prizewinning historian and internationally bestselling author of D-Day reconstructs the devastating airborne battle of Arnhem in this gripping new account.

On September 17, 1944, General Kurt Student, the founder of Nazi Germany's parachute forces, heard the groaning roar of airplane engines.
$27.50
ISBN: 9780525641506
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525641506
cover_9780525529590
Author: Sam Kleiner | Narrator: Stephen Graybill
Release Date: May 15, 2018
The thrilling story behind the American pilots who were secretly recruited to defend the nation’s desperate Chinese allies before Pearl Harbor and ended up on the front lines of the war against the Japanese in the Pacific

Sam Kleiner’s The Flying Tigers uncovers the hidden story of the group of young American men and women who crossed the Pacific before Pearl Harbor to risk their lives defending China.
cover_9780525529590
cover_9780525631453
Author: Anthea Bell and W. G. Sebald | Narrator: Simon Vance
Release Date: February 06, 2018
W.G. Sebald's military classic, ON THE NATURAL HISTORY OF DESTRUCTION, will now be available for the first time in audio.

On the Natural History of Destruction is W.G. Sebald's harrowing and precise investigation of one of the least examined "silences" of our time.
cover_9780525631453
cover_9780525527138
Author: Gerald Astor | Narrator: Kaleo Griffith
Release Date: October 10, 2017
Europe has fallen. Pearl Harbor is in flames. Enter. the Eighth.

In 1941 the RAF fought a desperate battle of survival against the Luftwaffe over Britain. Then, from across the Atlantic, came a new generation of American pilots, gunners, and bombardiers, a new generation of flying machines called the B-17 Flying Fortress, the B-24 Liberator, the P-47 Thunderbolt, and the P-51 Mustang fighter.
$22.50
ISBN: 9780525527138
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525527138
cover_9781524708481
Author: Svetlana Alexievich, Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky | Narrator: Julia Emelin and Yelena Shmulenson
Release Date: July 25, 2017
A long-awaited English translation of the groundbreaking oral history of women in World War II across Europe and Russia—from the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature

“A landmark.”—Timothy Snyder, author of On Tyranny.
$22.50
ISBN: 9781524708481
Unabridged Download
cover_9781524708481
cover_9781524751104
Author: Peter Eisner | Narrator: Peter Eisner
Release Date: May 02, 2017
"MacArthur's Spies reads like Casablanca set in the Pacific, filled with brave and daring characters caught up in the intrigue of war—and the best part is that it's all true." —Tom Maier, author of Masters of Sex

A thrilling story of espionage, daring and deception set in the exotic landscape of occupied Manila during World War II.
$22.50
ISBN: 9781524751104
Unabridged Download
cover_9781524751104
cover_9781524723798
Author: Lynne Olson | Narrator: Kimberly Farr and Arthur Morey
Release Date: April 25, 2017
A groundbreaking account of how Britain became the base of operations for the exiled leaders of Europe in their desperate struggle to reclaim their continent from Hitler, from the New York Times bestselling author of Citizens of London and Those Angry Days

When the Nazi blitzkrieg rolled over continental Europe in the early days of World War II, the city of London became a refuge for the governments and armed forces of six occupied nations who escaped there to continue the fight.
cover_9781524723798
cover_9781524781088
Author: Keggie Carew | Narrator: Pippa Haywood, Robert Bathurst, Tom Golding and Dermot Crowley
Release Date: March 07, 2017
Keggie Carew grew up in the gravitational field of an unorthodox father who lived on
his wits and dazzling charm. As his memory begins to fail, she embarks on a quest to unravel his story, and soon finds herself in a far more consuming place than she had bargained for.
$22.50
ISBN: 9781524781088
Unabridged Download
cover_9781524781088
cover_9781524752002
Author: Henning Koch and Anders Rydell | Narrator: Kaleo Griffith
Release Date: February 07, 2017
"A most valuable book." —Christian Science Monitor

For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books to their rightful owners.
$22.50
ISBN: 9781524752002
Unabridged Download
cover_9781524752002