63 results   page 1 of 6   >
view sort by
History - Military - World War II
cover_9780525631453
Author: Anthea Bell and W. G. Sebald
Release Date: February 06, 2018
W.G. Sebald's military classic, ON THE NATURAL HISTORY OF DESTRUCTION, will now be available for the first time in audio.

On the Natural History of Destruction is W.G. Sebald's harrowing and precise investigation of one of the least examined "silences" of our time.
cover_9780525631453
cover_9780525527138

Author: Gerald Astor | Narrator: Kaleo Griffith
Release Date: October 10, 2017
Europe has fallen. Pearl Harbor is in flames. Enter. the Eighth.

In 1941 the RAF fought a desperate battle of survival against the Luftwaffe over Britain. Then, from across the Atlantic, came a new generation of American pilots, gunners, and bombardiers, a new generation of flying machines called the B-17 Flying Fortress, the B-24 Liberator, the P-47 Thunderbolt, and the P-51 Mustang fighter.
$22.50
ISBN: 9780525527138
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525527138

cover_9781524708481

Author: Svetlana Alexievich, Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky | Narrator: Julia Emelin and Yelena Shmulenson
Release Date: July 25, 2017
A long-awaited English translation of the groundbreaking oral history of women in World War II across Europe and Russia—from the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature

“A landmark.”—Timothy Snyder, author of On Tyranny.
$22.50
ISBN: 9781524708481
Unabridged Download
cover_9781524708481

cover_9781524751104

Author: Peter Eisner | Narrator: Peter Eisner
Release Date: May 02, 2017
"MacArthur's Spies reads like Casablanca set in the Pacific, filled with brave and daring characters caught up in the intrigue of war—and the best part is that it's all true." —Tom Maier, author of Masters of Sex

A thrilling story of espionage, daring and deception set in the exotic landscape of occupied Manila during World War II.
$22.50
ISBN: 9781524751104
Unabridged Download
cover_9781524751104

cover_9781524723798

Author: Lynne Olson | Narrator: Kimberly Farr and Arthur Morey
Release Date: April 25, 2017
A groundbreaking account of how Britain became the base of operations for the exiled leaders of Europe in their desperate struggle to reclaim their continent from Hitler, from the New York Times bestselling author of Citizens of London and Those Angry Days

When the Nazi blitzkrieg rolled over continental Europe in the early days of World War II, the city of London became a refuge for the governments and armed forces of six occupied nations who escaped there to continue the fight.
cover_9781524723798

cover_9781524781088

Author: Keggie Carew | Narrator: Pippa Haywood, Robert Bathurst, Tom Golding and Dermot Crowley
Release Date: March 07, 2017
Keggie Carew grew up in the gravitational field of an unorthodox father who lived on
his wits and dazzling charm. As his memory begins to fail, she embarks on a quest to unravel his story, and soon finds herself in a far more consuming place than she had bargained for.
$22.50
ISBN: 9781524781088
Unabridged Download
cover_9781524781088

cover_9781524752002

Author: Henning Koch and Anders Rydell | Narrator: Kaleo Griffith
Release Date: February 07, 2017
"A most valuable book." —Christian Science Monitor

For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books to their rightful owners.
$22.50
ISBN: 9781524752002
Unabridged Download
cover_9781524752002

cover_9781101889541

Author: James D. Hornfischer | Narrator: Pete Larkin
Release Date: October 25, 2016
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The extraordinary story of the World War II air, land, and sea campaign that brought the U.S. Navy to the apex of its strength and marked the rise of the United States as a global superpower

Winner, Commodore John Barry Book Award, Navy League of the United States • Winner, John Lehman Distinguished Naval Historian Award, Naval Order of the United States

With its thunderous assault on the Mariana Islands in June 1944, the United States crossed the threshold of total war.
cover_9781101889541

cover_9781524733704

Author: Stephen E. Ambrose | Narrator: Richard Ferrone
Release Date: October 18, 2016
In this classic portrait of Dwight D. Eisenhower the soldier, bestselling historian Stephen E. Ambrose examines the Allied commander’s leadership during World War II.
 
Ambrose brings Eisenhower’s experience of the Second World War to life, showing in vivid detail how the general’s skill as a diplomat and a military strategist contributed to Allied successes in North Africa and in Europe, and established him as one of the greatest military leaders in the world.
$32.50
ISBN: 9781524733704
Unabridged Download
cover_9781524733704

cover_9780735288096

Author: Ben Macintyre | Narrator: Ben Macintyre
Release Date: October 04, 2016
The incredible untold story of WWII’s greatest secret fighting force, as told by our great modern master of wartime intrigue
 
Britain’s Special Air Service—or SAS—was the brainchild of David Stirling, a young, gadabout aristocrat whose aimlessness in early life belied a remarkable strategic mind.
cover_9780735288096

cover_9780735285064

Author: Elizabeth Letts | Narrator: Paul Boehmer
Release Date: August 23, 2016
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the author of The Eighty-Dollar Champion, the remarkable story of the heroic rescue of priceless horses in the closing days of World War II

In the chaotic last days of the war, a small troop of battle-weary American soldiers captures a German spy and makes an astonishing find—his briefcase is empty but for photos of beautiful white horses that have been stolen and kept on a secret farm behind enemy lines.
cover_9780735285064

cover_9780735286382

Author: Clare Mulley | Narrator: Elizabeth Sastre
Release Date: July 05, 2016
The Untold Story of Britain's First Female Special Agent of World War II

In June 1952, a woman was murdered by an obsessed colleague in a hotel in the South Kensington district of London. Her name was Christine Granville. That she died young was perhaps unsurprising; that she had survived the Second World War was remarkable.
cover_9780735286382