794 results   page 1 of 67   >
view sort by
DO NOT SELECT: History - General
cover_9780525588825
Author: John Heminway
Release Date: February 13, 2018
The revelatory account of a woman's quest for a new life in Africa in the wake of World War II--a heroic career that hid a dark wartime past.

Over the span of fifty years, Dr. Anne Spoerry, French by birth, treated hundreds of thousands of individuals across rural Kenya.
cover_9780525588825
cover_9780525498780
Author: Jonah Goldberg
Release Date: February 06, 2018
Combining intellectual history, social science, economics, and pop culture, bestselling author of Liberal FascismNational Review senior editor, and syndicated columnist Jonah Goldberg makes the timely case that America – and other democracies – must actively defend liberty against forces pulling us back to the tribal and nationalistic ideologies of the past.
cover_9780525498780
cover_9780735205772
Author: Dave Eggers
Release Date: January 30, 2018
From the best-selling author of The Circle, the true story of a young Yemeni-American man, raised in San Francisco, who dreams of resurrecting the ancient art of Yemeni coffee but finds himself trapped in Sana'a by civil war--and his riveting tale of escape.
cover_9780735205772
cover_9780525495130
Author: Ronen Bergman
Release Date: January 23, 2018
The page-turning, news-breaking, inside account of Israel’s state-sponsored assassination programs, from the man hailed by David Remnick as “arguably [Israel’s] best investigative reporter.”
cover_9780525495130
cover_9780525587958
Author: Steven Levitsky and Daniel Ziblatt
Release Date: January 16, 2018
For readers of On Tyranny and Why Nations Fail, a bracing look at the demise of liberal democracies around the world--and a roadmap for rescuing our own.

The first few months of Donald Trump's presidency have raised a question that many of us never thought we'd be asking.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525587958
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525587958
cover_9780449015582
Author: Charles C. Mann
Release Date: January 09, 2018
From the best-selling, award-winning author of 1491 and 1493--an incisive portrait of the two little-known twentieth-century scientists, Norman Borlaug and William Vogt, whose diametrically opposed views shaped our ideas about the environment, laying the groundwork for how people in the twenty-first century will choose to live in tomorrow's world.
cover_9780449015582
cover_9780525525059
Author: Garry Wills
Release Date: January 02, 2018
The title description for this item is not yet available.
$22.50
ISBN: 9780525525059
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525525059
cover_9780525492436
Author: Catherine Kerrison
Release Date: January 02, 2018
Thomas Jefferson fathered three girls. two white and free, one black and a slave. This book about Martha, Maria, and Harriet tells the fascinating story of their very different lives at Monticello and beyond, as daughters of one of our most brilliant and complicated Founding Fathers.
cover_9780525492436
cover_9780525494669
Author: Norma Stevens and Steven M. L. Aronson
Release Date: November 21, 2017
A intimate biography of Richard Avedon, the legendary fashion and portrait photographer who “helped define America’s image of style, beauty and culture” (The New York Times) by his longtime collaborator and business partner Norma Stevens and award-winning author Steven M.
cover_9780525494669
cover_9780525524571
Author: Martin Puchner
Release Date: November 14, 2017
The story of literature in sixteen acts, from Alexander the Great and the Iliad to Don Quixote and Harry Potter, this engaging book brings together remarkable people and surprising events to show how writing shaped cultures, religions, and the history of the world.
cover_9780525524571
cover_9780525497486
Author: Robert Dallek
Release Date: November 07, 2017
A one-volume biography of Roosevelt by the #1 New York Times bestselling biographer of JFK, focusing on his career as an incomparable politician, uniter, and deal maker

In an era of such great national divisiveness, there could be no more timely biography of one of our greatest presidents than one that focuses on his unparalleled political ability as a uniter and consensus maker.
cover_9780525497486
cover_9780525524649
Author: Reza Aslan | Narrator: Reza Aslan
Release Date: November 07, 2017
From the bestselling author of Zealot and host of the new CNN series Believer comes a fascinating account of humanity’s struggle to make sense of the divine, and how the idea of god, from its prehistoric origins to its emergence as a single divine personality, continues to offer new ways of connecting people of different faiths today.
cover_9780525524649