59 results   page 1 of 5   >
view sort by
Nature
cover_9780525641100
Author: Matt Simon
Release Date: October 02, 2018
A brain-bending exploration of real-life zombies and mind controllers, and what they reveal to us about nature—and ourselves

Zombieism isn’t just the stuff of movies and TV shows like The Walking Dead. It’s real, and it’s happening in the world around us, from wasps and worms to dogs and moose—and even humans.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525641100
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525641100
cover_9780525641520
Author: Art Cullen
Release Date: October 02, 2018
From a 2017 Pulitzer-winning newspaperman, an unsentimental ode to America's heartland as seen in small-town Iowa, a story of reinvention and resilience, environmental and economic struggle, and surprising diversity and hope.

When The Storm Lake Times, a tiny Iowa twice-weekly, won a Pulitzer Prize for taking on big corporate agri-industry for poisoning the local rivers and lake, it was a coup on many counts.
cover_9780525641520
cover_9780525626930
Author: Vince Beiser
Release Date: August 07, 2018
The gripping story of the most important overlooked commodity in the world--sand--and the crucial role it plays in our lives.

After water and air, sand is the natural resource that we consume more than any other--even more than oil. Every concrete building and paved road on Earth, every computer screen and silicon chip, is made from sand.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525626930
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525626930
cover_9780525627036
Author: Paul Greenberg | Narrator: Paul Greenberg
Release Date: July 10, 2018
By the bestselling author of Four Fish and American Catch, an eye-opening investigation of the history, science, and business behind omega-3 fatty acids, the "miracle compound" whose story is intertwined with human health and the future of our planet

Omega-3 fatty acids have long been celebrated by doctors and dieticians as key to a healthy heart and a sharper brain.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525627036
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525627036
cover_9780525529675
Author: John F. Ross
Release Date: July 03, 2018
A timely new account of the first complete exploration of the Grand Canyon and Powell's subsequent career as a pioneer of sustainable development in the West-- a classic of American historical adventure that also lays the path for the environmental issues still with us today.
cover_9780525529675
cover_9780525630852
Author: Nick Pyenson | Narrator: Nick Pyenson
Release Date: June 26, 2018
A dive into the secret lives of whales, from their evolutionary past to today's cutting edge of science

Whales are among the largest, most intelligent, deepest diving species to have ever lived on our planet. They evolved from land-roaming, dog-sized creatures into animals that move like fish, breathe like us, can grow to 300,000 pounds, live 200 years and travel entire ocean basins.
$22.50
ISBN: 9780525630852
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525630852
cover_9780525627012
Author: Rosamund Young | Narrator: Rosamund Young
Release Date: June 12, 2018
"Within a day of receiving this book, I had consumed it... Absorbing, moving, and compulsively readable."—Lydia Davis

In this affectionate, heart-warming chronicle, Rosamund Young distills a lifetime of organic farming wisdom, describing the surprising personalities of her cows and other animals


At her famous Kite's Nest Farm in Worcestershire, England, the cows (as well as sheep, hens, and pigs) all roam free.
cover_9780525627012
cover_9780525639398
Author: Peter Wohlleben
Release Date: June 05, 2018
The internationally bestselling author of The Hidden Life of Trees shows how we can decipher nature's secret signs by studying the weather.

The internationally bestselling author of The Hidden Life of Trees shows how we can decipher nature's secret signs by studying the weather.
cover_9780525639398
cover_9780525530060
Author: Kirk Wallace Johnson | Narrator: MacLeod Andrews
Release Date: April 24, 2018
“One of the most peculiar and memorable true-crime books ever.” —Christian Science Monitor

“Fascinating from the first page to the last—you won’t be able to put it down.” —Southern Living

A rollicking true-crime adventure and a thought-provoking exploration of the human drive to possess natural beauty for readers of The Stranger in the Woods, The Lost City of Z, and The Orchid Thief.
$22.50
ISBN: 9780525530060
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525530060
cover_9780525639749
Author: Tristram Korten | Narrator: Dan Woren
Release Date: April 24, 2018
“An intense, immersive deep dive into a wild, dangerous, and unknown world, written with the pace and appeal of a great thriller. This is nonfiction at its very best.”—Lee Child

The true story of two doomed ships and a daring search-and-rescue operation that shines a light on the elite Coast Guard swimmers trained for the most dangerous ocean missions


In late September 2015, Hurricane Joaquin swept past the Bahamas and swallowed a pair of cargo vessels in its destructive path.
cover_9780525639749
cover_9780525531975
Author: Lucy Jones | Narrator: Lucy Jones
Release Date: April 17, 2018
By the world-renowned seismologist, a riveting history of natural disasters, their impact on our culture, and new ways of thinking about the ones to come

Earthquakes, floods, tsunamis, hurricanes, volcanoes--they stem from the same forces that give our planet life.
cover_9780525531975
cover_9780525638216
Author: Dr. Qing Li | Narrator: Ramon Tikaram
Release Date: April 17, 2018
The definitive guide to the therapeutic Japanese practice of shinrin-yoku, or the art and science of how trees can promote health and happiness

Notice how a tree sways in the wind. Run your hands over its bark. Take in its citrusy scent.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525638216
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525638216