29 results   page 1 of 3   >
view sort by
biography
cover_9780451486318
Author: Rebecca Skloot | Narrator: Cassandra Campbell and Bahni Turpin
Release Date: November 10, 2015
Now a major motion picture from HBO® starring Oprah Winfrey and Rose Byrne.

Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor Southern tobacco farmer who worked the same land as her slave ancestors, yet her cells—taken without her knowledge—became one of the most important tools in medicine.
cover_9780451486318
cover_9780553551747

Author: Mindy Kaling | Narrator: Mindy Kaling, B. J. Novak and Greg Daniels
Release Date: September 15, 2015
From the author of the beloved New York Times bestselling book Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me. and the creator and star of The Mindy Project comes a collection of essays that are as hilarious and insightful as they are deeply personal.
cover_9780553551747

cover_9780451482211

Author: Ta-Nehisi Coates | Narrator: Ta-Nehisi Coates
Release Date: September 08, 2015
Hailed by Toni Morrison as “required reading,” a bold and personal literary exploration of America’s racial history by “the single best writer on the subject of race in the United States” (The New York Observer)

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER | NAACP IMAGE AWARD WINNER | PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST | NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST | NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review • O.
cover_9780451482211

cover_9780307989901

Author: Paula McLain | Narrator: Katharine McEwan
Release Date: July 28, 2015

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR, BOOKPAGE, AND SHELF AWARENESS  “Paula McLain is considered the new star of historical fiction, and for good reason.

cover_9780307989901

cover_9780553397888

Author: Ben Macintyre and John le Carr├ę | Narrator: John Lee
Release Date: July 29, 2014
Master storyteller Ben Macintyre’s most ambitious work to date brings to life the twentieth century’s greatest spy story.


Kim Philby was the greatest spy in history, a brilliant and charming man who rose to head Britain’s counterintelligence against the Soviet Union during the height of the Cold War—while he was secretly working for the enemy.
cover_9780553397888

cover_9780739315293

Author: Bill Bryson | Narrator: Bill Bryson
Release Date: October 01, 2013
A Chicago Tribune Noteworthy Book
A GoodReads Reader's Choice

In One Summer Bill Bryson, one of our greatest and most beloved nonfiction writers, transports readers on a journey back to one amazing season in American life.


The summer of 1927 began with one of the signature events of the twentieth century.
cover_9780739315293

cover_9781611762587
Author: Elizabeth Gilbert | Narrator: Elizabeth Gilbert
Release Date: September 26, 2013
A transformational journey through Italy, India, and Bali searching for pleasure and devotion—the massive bestseller from the author of The Signature of All Things

This beautifully written, heartfelt memoir touched a nerve among both readers and reviewers.
cover_9781611762587
cover_9781611761696
Author: Daniel James Brown | Narrator: Edward Herrmann
Release Date: June 04, 2013
The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the forthcoming PBS documentary “Boys of ‘36”

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.
cover_9781611761696
cover_9780307970299

Author: Cheryl Strayed | Narrator: Bernadette Dunne
Release Date: March 20, 2012
Oprah's Book Club 2.0 selection.

A powerful, blazingly honest memoir. the story of an eleven-hundred-mile solo hike that broke down a young woman reeling from catastrophe—and built her back up again.
 
At twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything.
cover_9780307970299

cover_9780307939807

Author: Mindy Kaling | Narrator: Mindy Kaling, Michael Schur, B. J. Novak and Brenda Withers
Release Date: November 01, 2011

Mindy Kaling has lived many lives. the obedient child of immigrant professionals, a timid chubster afraid of her own bike, a Ben Affleck–impersonating Off-Broadway performer and playwright, and, finally, a comedy writer and actress prone to starting fights with her friends and coworkers with the sentence “Can I just say one last thing about this, and then I swear I’ll shut up about it.

cover_9780307939807

cover_9780739319697

Author: Laura Hillenbrand | Narrator: Edward Herrmann
Release Date: November 16, 2010
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE • Hailed as the top nonfiction book of the year by Time magazine • Winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for biography and the Indies Choice Adult Nonfiction Book of the Year award

On a May afternoon in 1943, an Army Air Forces bomber crashed into the Pacific Ocean and disappeared, leaving only a spray of debris and a slick of oil, gasoline, and blood.
cover_9780739319697

cover_9780307737854

Author: Anne Frank | Narrator: Selma Blair
Release Date: May 25, 2010
Discovered in the attic in which she spent the last years of her life, Anne Frank’s remarkable diary has since become a world classic—a powerful reminder of the horrors of war and an eloquent testament to the human spirit. 

In 1942, with Nazis occupying Holland, a thirteen-year-old Jewish girl and her family fled their home in Amsterdam and went into hiding.
cover_9780307737854