73 results   page 1 of 7   >
view sort by
historical
cover_9781101888575

Author: Helen Simonson | Narrator: Fiona Hardingham
Release Date: March 22, 2016
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “A novel to cure your Downton Abbey withdrawal . . . a delightful story about nontraditional romantic relationships, class snobbery and the everybody-knows-everybody complications of living in a small community.
cover_9781101888575

cover_9781611764710

Author: Tracy Chevalier | Narrator: Kirby Heyborne, Cassandra Morris, Mark Bramhall and Hillary Huber
Release Date: March 15, 2016
From internationally bestselling author Tracy Chevalier, a riveting drama of a pioneer family on the American frontier

1838. James and Sadie Goodenough have settled where their wagon got stuck – in the muddy, stagnant swamps of northwest Ohio.
cover_9781611764710

cover_9781101922750

Author: Melanie Benjamin | Narrator: Paul Boehmer and Cassandra Campbell
Release Date: January 26, 2016
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The author of The Aviator’s Wife returns with a triumphant new novel about New York’s “Swans” of the 1950s—and the scandalous, headline-making, and enthralling friendship between literary legend Truman Capote and peerless socialite Babe Paley.
cover_9781101922750

cover_9780451486318
Author: Rebecca Skloot | Narrator: Cassandra Campbell and Bahni Turpin
Release Date: November 10, 2015
Now a major motion picture from HBO® starring Oprah Winfrey and Rose Byrne.

Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor Southern tobacco farmer who worked the same land as her slave ancestors, yet her cells—taken without her knowledge—became one of the most important tools in medicine.
cover_9780451486318
cover_9780307989901

Author: Paula McLain | Narrator: Katharine McEwan
Release Date: July 28, 2015

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR, BOOKPAGE, AND SHELF AWARENESS  “Paula McLain is considered the new star of historical fiction, and for good reason.

cover_9780307989901

cover_9780307879851

Author: Alan Bradley | Narrator: Jayne Entwistle
Release Date: January 14, 2014
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

On a spring morning in 1951, eleven-year-old chemist and aspiring detective Flavia de Luce gathers with her family at the railway station, awaiting the return of her long-lost mother, Harriet. Yet upon the train’s arrival in the English village of Bishop’s Lacey, Flavia is approached by a tall stranger who whispers a cryptic message into her ear.
cover_9780307879851

cover_9780804168434
Author: Markus Zusak | Narrator: Allan Corduner
Release Date: October 15, 2013
The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.

It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still.
cover_9780804168434
cover_9780804149402

Author: Jo Baker | Narrator: Emma Fielding
Release Date: October 08, 2013

Pride and Prejudice was only half the story •
 
If Elizabeth Bennet had the washing of her own petticoats, Sarah often thought, she’d most likely be a sight more careful with them.
 
In this irresistibly imagined belowstairs answer to Pride and Prejudice, the servants take center stage.

cover_9780804149402

cover_9780739315293

Author: Bill Bryson | Narrator: Bill Bryson
Release Date: October 01, 2013
A Chicago Tribune Noteworthy Book
A GoodReads Reader's Choice

In One Summer Bill Bryson, one of our greatest and most beloved nonfiction writers, transports readers on a journey back to one amazing season in American life.


The summer of 1927 began with one of the signature events of the twentieth century.
cover_9780739315293

cover_9781611762020
Author: Elizabeth Gilbert | Narrator: Juliet Stevenson
Release Date: October 01, 2013
A glorious, sweeping novel of desire, ambition, and the thirst for knowledge, from the # 1 New York Times bestselling author of Eat, Pray, Love and Committed

Look out for Elizabeth Gilbert’s new book, Big Magic.
cover_9781611762020
cover_9781611761696
Author: Daniel James Brown | Narrator: Edward Herrmann
Release Date: June 04, 2013
The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the forthcoming PBS documentary “Boys of ‘36”

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.
cover_9781611761696
cover_9780307879493

Author: Alan Bradley | Narrator: Jayne Entwistle
Release Date: January 29, 2013
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

From award-winning author Alan Bradley comes the next cozy British mystery starring intrepid young sleuth Flavia de Luce, hailed by USA Today as “one of the most remarkable creations in recent literature.
cover_9780307879493