516 results   page 1 of 43   >
view sort by
England
cover_9780525495840
Author: Ken Follett | Narrator: Richard E. Grant
Release Date: May 16, 2017

#1 New York Times Bestseller

In 1989, Ken Follett astonished the literary world with The Pillars of the Earth, a sweeping epic novel set in twelfth-century England centered on the building of a cathedral and many of the hundreds of lives it affected.

cover_9780525495840
cover_9781524782962

Author: Iris Murdoch | Narrator: Simon Vance and Kimberly Farr
Release Date: April 18, 2017
Charles Arrowby, leading light of England's theatrical set, retires from glittering London to an isolated home by the sea. He plans to write a memoir about his great love affair with Clement Makin, his mentor, both professionally and personally, and amuse himself with Lizzie, an actress he has strung along for many years.
cover_9781524782962

cover_9781524721343

Author: Jennifer Ryan | Narrator: Various
Release Date: March 14, 2017
"Just because the men have gone to war, why do we have to close the choir. And precisely when we need it most."
  
As England enters World War II's dark early days, spirited music professor Primrose Trent, recently arrived to the village of Chilbury, emboldens the women of the town to defy the Vicar's stuffy edict to shutter the church's choir in the absence of men and instead "carry on singing.
cover_9781524721343

cover_9780525524441
Author: Ken Follett | Narrator: Victor Garber
Release Date: February 28, 2017
A PLACE CALLED FREEDOM begins in the infernal coal mines of the Jamisson family, in the Scottish highlands, where twenty-one-year-old Mack McAsh spends most of his waking hours.  Bound to his employer for life, Mack burns with an insatiable desire to escape.
cover_9780525524441
cover_9780525500889
Author: W.G. Sebald | Narrator: Richard Matthews
Release Date: February 07, 2017
Austerlitz, the internationally acclaimed masterpiece by “one of the most gripping writers imaginable” (The New York Review of Books), is the story of a man’s search for the answer to his life’s central riddle. A small child when he comes to England on a Kindertransport in the summer of 1939, one Jacques Aus-terlitz is told nothing of his real family by the Welsh Methodist minister and his wife who raise him.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525500889
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525500889
cover_9780525496960

Author: Stanley Weintraub | Narrator: Donada Peters
Release Date: January 24, 2017
This biography of Victoria highlights the many dramas of her life. For example, she was fatherless at eight months and treated poorly by her family, but survived to become the only English queen comparable to Elizabeth I. The character of Victoria herself, stubborn and vital, is also drawn out.
$32.50
ISBN: 9780525496960
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525496960

cover_9780525493556

Author: Kate Williams | Narrator: Katharine McEwan
Release Date: December 27, 2016
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The perfect companion to the PBS Masterpiece series Victoria • A gripping account of Queen Victoria’s rise and early years in power from CNN’s official royal historian

“Kate Williams has perfected the art of historical biography.
cover_9780525493556

cover_9780804127981

Author: John Cleese | Narrator: John Cleese
Release Date: December 13, 2016

John Cleese’s  huge comedic influence has stretched across generations; his sharp irreverent eye and the unique brand of physical comedy he perfected with Monty Python, on Fawlty Towers, and beyond now seem written into comedy’s DNA.

$22.50
ISBN: 9780804127981
Unabridged Download
cover_9780804127981

cover_9781524708061

Author: P. D. James | Narrator: Jenny Agutter and Daniel Weyman
Release Date: October 25, 2016
Four previously uncollected stories from one of the great mystery writers of our time--swift, cunning murder mysteries (two of which feature the young Adam Dalgliesh) that together, to borrow the author's own word, add up to a delightful "entertainment.
cover_9781524708061

cover_9780735288560

Author: Jojo Moyes | Narrator: Fiona Hardingham and Various
Release Date: October 18, 2016
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You and After You, a sensational collection featuring the title novella and eight other stories. Quintessential Jojo Moyes, Paris for One and Other Stories is an irresistibly romantic collection filled with humor and heart.
cover_9780735288560

cover_9780735285125

Author: Susan Elia MacNeal | Narrator: Susan Duerden
Release Date: October 04, 2016
Spy and code-breaker extraordinaire Maggie Hope returns to war-weary London, where she is thrust into the dangerous hunt for a monster, as the New York Times bestselling mystery series for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry continues.
cover_9780735285125

cover_9780449807651

Author: Alan Bradley | Narrator: Jayne Entwistle
Release Date: September 20, 2016
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Hailed as “a combination of Eloise and Sherlock Holmes” by The Boston Globe, Flavia de Luce returns in a much anticipated new Christmas mystery from award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Alan Bradley.
cover_9780449807651