120 results   page 1 of 10   >
view sort by
True Crime
cover_9780525643005
Author: Fox Butterfield
Release Date: October 09, 2018
From the Pulitzer Prize-winning New York Times journalist. a pathbreaking examination of our huge crime and incarceration problem that looks at the influence of the family--specifically one Oregon family with a generations-long legacy of lawlessness.
cover_9780525643005
cover_9780525643807
Author: Ben Macintyre
Release Date: September 18, 2018
The celebrated author of Double Cross and Rogue Heroes returns with his greatest spy story yet, a thrilling Americans-era tale of Oleg Gordievsky, the Russian whose secret work helped hasten the end of the Cold War.
cover_9780525643807
cover_9780525639916
Author: Charles Glass
Release Date: September 11, 2018
The title description for this item is not yet available.
cover_9780525639916
cover_9780698402195
Author: Mark Jacobson
Release Date: September 04, 2018
We are living in a time of unprecedented distrust in America. Faith in the government is at an all-time low, and political groups on both sides of the aisle are able to tout preposterous conspiracy theories as gospel, without much opposition. “Fake news” is the order of the day.
cover_9780698402195
cover_9780525635482
Author: Paul Willetts
Release Date: August 07, 2018
The spellbinding tale of hustler Edgar Laplante—the king of Jazz Age con artists—who becomes the victim of his own dangerous game.
 
Edgar Laplante was a smalltime grifter, an erstwhile vaudeville performer, and an unabashed charmer.
cover_9780525635482
cover_9781524776534
Author: Margalit Fox
Release Date: June 26, 2018
In this thrilling true-crime procedural, the creator of Sherlock Holmes uses his unparalleled detective skills to exonerate a German Jew wrongly convicted of murder.
 
For all the scores of biographies of Arthur Conan Doyle, creator of the most famous detective in the world, there is no American book that tells this remarkable story—in which Conan Doyle becomes a real-life detective on an actual murder case.
$22.50
ISBN: 9781524776534
Unabridged Download
cover_9781524776534
cover_9780525526766
Author: Virginia Vallejo and Megan McDowell | Narrator: Almarie Guerra
Release Date: May 29, 2018
A revealing memoir of Colombian television journalist Virginia Vallejo's affair with the "King of Cocaine," notorious Medellin drug lord, Pablo Escobar. Soon to be a Major Motion Picture starring Javier Bardem and Penelope Cruz. 

At 33, Virginia Vallejo was part of the media elite.
cover_9780525526766
cover_9780525633419
Author: Bill Buford | Narrator: Bill Buford
Release Date: May 29, 2018
They have names like Barmy Bernie, Daft Donald, and Steamin' Sammy. They like lager (in huge quantities), the Queen, football clubs (especially Manchester United), and themselves. Their dislike encompasses the rest of the known universe, and England's soccer thugs express it in ways that range from mere vandalism to riots that terrorize entire cities.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525633419
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525633419
cover_9780525528241
Author: Gilbert King | Narrator: Kimberly Farr
Release Date: April 24, 2018
"Compelling, insightful and important, Beneath a Ruthless Sun exposes the corruption of racial bigotry and animus that shadows a community, a state and a nation. A fascinating examination of an injustice story all too familiar and still largely ignored, an engaging and essential read.
cover_9780525528241
cover_9780525530060
Author: Kirk Wallace Johnson | Narrator: MacLeod Andrews
Release Date: April 24, 2018
“One of the most peculiar and memorable true-crime books ever.” —Christian Science Monitor

“Fascinating from the first page to the last—you won’t be able to put it down.” —Southern Living

A rollicking true-crime adventure and a thought-provoking exploration of the human drive to possess natural beauty for readers of The Stranger in the Woods, The Lost City of Z, and The Orchid Thief.
$22.50
ISBN: 9780525530060
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525530060
cover_9780525593478
Author: Pamela Colloff | Narrator: Staci Snell
Release Date: March 13, 2018
In partnership with Texas Monthly, Pamela Colloff's "The Innocent Man, Part One" is now available as an audio download, where the length and timeliness of a podcast meets the high-quality production of a full-length audio program.
$3.99
ISBN: 9780525593478
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525593478
cover_9780525593485
Author: Pamela Colloff | Narrator: Staci Snell
Release Date: March 13, 2018
In partnership with Texas Monthly, Pamela Colloff's "The Innocent Man, Part Two" is now available as an audio download, where the length and timeliness of a podcast meets the high-quality production of a full-length audio program.
$3.99
ISBN: 9780525593485
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525593485