Audiobooks to Teach Kindness and Empathy
35 results   page 1 of 3   >
view sort by
cover_9780525500957

Author: Katherine Applegate | Narrator: Nancy Linari
Grades: 7-8
Release Date: September 26, 2017
Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .

Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "wishtree"―people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with her crow friend Bongo and other animals who seek refuge in Red's hollows, this "wishtree" watches over the neighborhood.
cover_9780525500957

cover_9780525495871

Author: Emily Blejwas | Narrator: Catherine Taber
Grades: 7-8
Release Date: September 19, 2017
A girl wishes for a better life for herself, her mom, and her baby brother and musters the courage to make it happen in this moving and emotionally satisfying story for readers of Kate DiCamillo and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

Once You Know This reminds me of a flower blooming in the crack of a sidewalk.
cover_9780525495871

cover_9780525493822

Author: Paul Griffin | Narrator: Paul Griffin
Grades: N/A
Release Date: September 19, 2017
Fans of Because of Winn Dixie will adore this warm and heart-wrenching story of the friendship between a boy and a pig who thinks it's a dog.
 
Eleven-year-old Lorenzo Ventura knows heroes are rare—like his father, who died in the war, or his friend Paloma Lee, who fearlessly pursues her dream of being a famous musician.
cover_9780525493822

cover_9780525530848

Author: Mitali Perkins | Narrator: Various, Sneha Mathan, Shivali Bhammer and Priya Ayyar
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: September 12, 2017
This elegant young adult novel captures the immigrant experience for one Indian-American family with humor and heart. Told in alternating teen voices across three generations, You Bring the Distant Near explores sisterhood, first loves, friendship, and the inheritance of culture--for better or worse.
cover_9780525530848

cover_9781524775148

Author: Ann Dee Ellis | Narrator: Taylor Meskimen
Grades: 7-8
Release Date: July 11, 2017
For fans of Ali Benjamin’s The Thing About Jellyfish and Katherine Applegate’s Crenshaw comes the humorous and heart aching story of one girl’s struggle to keep hope alive for her and her younger sister in Sunny Pines Trailer Park.
cover_9781524775148

cover_9781524774981

Author: Veronica Chambers | Narrator: Karla Souza
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: May 09, 2017

Fans of Jane the Virgin will find much to love about The Go-Between, a coming-of-age novel from bestselling author Veronica Chambers, who with humor and humanity explores issues of identity and belonging in a world that is ever-changing.

cover_9781524774981

cover_9781524775025

Author: Lauren Wolk | Narrator: Lauren Wolk and Jorjeana Marie
Grades: 7-8
Release Date: May 02, 2017
From the bestselling author of Newbery Honor–winner Wolf Hollow, the moving story of an orphan, determined to know her own history, who discovers the true meaning of family. 

“The sight of a campfire on a distant island…proves the catalyst for a series of discoveries and events—some poignant, some frightening—that Ms.
cover_9781524775025

cover_9781524781842

Author: Holly M. McGhee | Narrator: Jenna Lamia
Grades: 7-8
Release Date: May 02, 2017
In a courageous debut novel, Holly M. McGhee explores the loss that shakes one girl’s world — and the unexpected consequences of the things we do for love.

Sussy and Guy are best friends, fourth-graders who share their silliest thoughts and deepest hopes.
cover_9781524781842

cover_9781524755058

Author: Ruth Behar | Narrator: Ruth Behar
Grades: 7-8
Release Date: April 11, 2017
“A book for anyone mending from childhood wounds.”—Sandra Cisneros, author of The House on Mango Street
 
In this unforgettable multicultural coming-of-age narrative—based on the author’s childhood in the 1960s—a young Cuban-Jewish immigrant girl is adjusting to her new life in New York City when her American dream is suddenly derailed.
cover_9781524755058

cover_9781524721138

Author: Ellen Oh | Narrator: Various, Meg Medina, Ellen Oh and Kwame Alexander
Grades: 7-8
Release Date: January 03, 2017
Whether it is basketball dreams, family fiascos, first crushes, or new neighborhoods, this bold anthology—written by the best children’s authors—celebrates the uniqueness and universality in all of us.
 
In a partnership with We Need Diverse Books, industry giants Kwame Alexander, Soman Chainani, Matt de la Peña, Tim Federle, Grace Lin, Meg Medina, Walter Dean Myers, Tim Tingle, and Jacqueline Woodson join newcomer Kelly J.
cover_9781524721138

cover_9781524777067

Author: Randi Pink | Narrator: Adenrele Ojo
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: January 03, 2017
LaToya Williams lives in Montgomery, Alabama, and attends a mostly white high school. It seems as if her only friend is her older brother, Alex. Toya doesn’t know where she fits in, but after a run-in with another student, she wonders if life would be different if she were .
cover_9781524777067

cover_9781524724009

Author: Louise Gornall | Narrator: Phoebe Strole
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: January 03, 2017
Norah has agoraphobia and OCD. When groceries are left on the porch, she can’t step out to get them. Struggling to snag the bags with a stick, she meets Luke. He’s sweet and funny, and he just caught her fishing for groceries. Because of course he did.
cover_9781524724009