Audiobooks to Teach Kindness and Empathy
27 results   page 1 of 3   >
view sort by
cover_9780525500957
Author: Katherine Applegate | Narrator: Nancy Linari
Grades: 7-8
Release Date: September 26, 2017
Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .

Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "wishtree"―people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with her crow friend Bongo and other animals who seek refuge in Red's hollows, this "wishtree" watches over the neighborhood.
cover_9780525500957
cover_9780525495871
Author: Emily Blejwas | Narrator: Catherine Taber
Grades: 7-8
Release Date: September 19, 2017
A girl wishes for a better life for herself, her mom, and her baby brother and musters the courage to make it happen in this moving and emotionally satisfying story for readers of Kate DiCamillo and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

Once You Know This reminds me of a flower blooming in the crack of a sidewalk.
cover_9780525495871
cover_9780525493822
Author: Paul Griffin | Narrator: Paul Griffin
Grades: N/A
Release Date: September 19, 2017
Fans of Because of Winn Dixie will adore this warm and heart-wrenching story of the friendship between a boy and a pig who thinks it's a dog.
 
Eleven-year-old Lorenzo Ventura knows heroes are rare—like his father, who died in the war, or his friend Paloma Lee, who fearlessly pursues her dream of being a famous musician.
cover_9780525493822
cover_9780525530848
Author: Mitali Perkins | Narrator: Various, Sneha Mathan, Shivali Bhammer and Priya Ayyar
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: September 12, 2017
This elegant young adult novel captures the immigrant experience for one Indian-American family with humor and heart. Told in alternating teen voices across three generations, You Bring the Distant Near explores sisterhood, first loves, friendship, and the inheritance of culture--for better or worse.
cover_9780525530848
cover_9781524775148
Author: Ann Dee Ellis | Narrator: Taylor Meskimen
Grades: 7-8
Release Date: July 11, 2017
For fans of Ali Benjamin’s The Thing About Jellyfish and Katherine Applegate’s Crenshaw comes the humorous and heart aching story of one girl’s struggle to keep hope alive for her and her younger sister in Sunny Pines Trailer Park.
cover_9781524775148
cover_9781524775025
Author: Lauren Wolk | Narrator: Lauren Wolk and Jorjeana Marie
Grades: 7-8
Release Date: May 02, 2017
- Winner of the 2018 Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction - 

From the bestselling author of Newbery Honor–winner Wolf Hollow, Beyond the Bright Sea is an acclaimed best book of the year.

An NPR Best Book of the Year • A Parents’ Magazine Best Book of the Year • A Booklist Editors' Choice selection • A BookPage Best Book of the Year • A Horn Book Fanfare Selection • A Kirkus Best Book of the Year • A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year • A Charlotte Observer Best Book of the Year • A Southern Living Best Book of the Year • A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year

“The sight of a campfire on a distant island…proves the catalyst for a series of discoveries and events—some poignant, some frightening—that Ms.
cover_9781524775025
cover_9781524781842
Author: Holly M. McGhee | Narrator: Jenna Lamia
Grades: 7-8
Release Date: May 02, 2017
In a courageous debut novel, Holly M. McGhee explores the loss that shakes one girl’s world — and the unexpected consequences of the things we do for love.

Sussy and Guy are best friends, fourth-graders who share their silliest thoughts and deepest hopes.
cover_9781524781842
cover_9781524755058
Author: Ruth Behar | Narrator: Ruth Behar
Grades: 7-8
Release Date: April 11, 2017
Winner of the 2018 Pura Belpre Award.

“A book for anyone mending from childhood wounds.”—Sandra Cisneros, author of The House on Mango Street

 
In this unforgettable multicultural coming-of-age narrative—based on the author’s childhood in the 1960s—a young Cuban-Jewish immigrant girl is adjusting to her new life in New York City when her American dream is suddenly derailed.
cover_9781524755058
cover_9781524721138
Author: Ellen Oh | Narrator: Various, Meg Medina, Ellen Oh and Kwame Alexander
Grades: 7-8
Release Date: January 03, 2017
Whether it is basketball dreams, family fiascos, first crushes, or new neighborhoods, this bold anthology—written by the best children’s authors—celebrates the uniqueness and universality in all of us.
 
In a partnership with We Need Diverse Books, industry giants Kwame Alexander, Soman Chainani, Matt de la Peña, Tim Federle, Grace Lin, Meg Medina, Walter Dean Myers, Tim Tingle, and Jacqueline Woodson join newcomer Kelly J.
cover_9781524721138
cover_9781524777067
Author: Randi Pink | Narrator: Adenrele Ojo
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: January 03, 2017
LaToya Williams lives in Montgomery, Alabama, and attends a mostly white high school. It seems as if her only friend is her older brother, Alex. Toya doesn’t know where she fits in, but after a run-in with another student, she wonders if life would be different if she were .
cover_9781524777067
cover_9781524721381
Author: Nicola Yoon | Narrator: Bahni Turpin, Dominic Hoffman and Raymond Lee
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: November 01, 2016

Soon to be a major motion picture. The #1 New York Times bestseller and National Book Award Finalist from the bestselling author of Everything, Everything (streaming now.) will have you falling in love with Natasha and Daniel as they fall in love with each other.

cover_9781524721381
cover_9781101915783
Author: Kate Beasley | Narrator: Tara Sands
Grades: 7-8
Release Date: October 04, 2016
For fans of Three Times Lucky and The Penderwicks, this endearing new classic spins together sparkling humor, sizzle-pop writing, and a sassy main character with an unforgettable voice.

Gertie Reece Foy is 100% Not-From-Concentrate awesome.
cover_9781101915783