Holocaust Remembrance

Listening Library presents an inspiring collection: tales of hope, courage, faith, and triumph in the darkest of days. Celebrate voices from the past, along with some of today’s most powerful literature.

9 results   page 1 of 1  
view sort by
cover_9780399564598
Author: Jennifer Armstrong and Irene Gut Opdyke | Narrator: Hope Davis
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: March 08, 2016
IRENE GUT WAS just 17 in 1939, when the Germans and Russians devoured her native Poland. Just a girl, really. But a girl who saw evil and chose to defy it.

“No matter how many Holocaust stories one has read, this one is a must, for its impact is so powerful.
cover_9780399564598
cover_9780147525437

Author: Ruta Sepetys | Narrator: Cassandra Morris, Michael Crouch, Jorjeana Marie and Will Damron
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: February 02, 2016
New York Times Bestseller. "Masterly crafted"The Wall Street Journal

For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies.
cover_9780147525437

cover_9781101891810

Author: Gavriel Savit | Narrator: Allan Corduner
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: January 26, 2016
Winner of the 2017 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production
New York Times Bestseller
A Booklist Editors’ Choice Audio
An AudioFile Best Audiobook of the Year
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
A Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year
A Bulletin Blue Ribbon Book
Winner of the Indies Choice Book Award                             
Winner of the Sydney Taylor Book Award

"Exquisite.
cover_9781101891810

cover_9781101912959

Author: Jim Shepard | Narrator: Michael Goldstrom
Grades: N/A
Release Date: May 12, 2015
The acclaimed National Book Award finalist—“one of the United States’ finest writers,” according to Joshua Ferris, “full of wit, humanity, and fearless curiosity”—now gives us a novel that will join the short list of classics about children caught up in the Holocaust.
cover_9781101912959

cover_9780804168434
Author: Markus Zusak | Narrator: Allan Corduner
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: October 15, 2013
The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.

It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still.
cover_9780804168434
cover_9780307737854

Author: Anne Frank | Narrator: Selma Blair
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: May 25, 2010
Discovered in the attic in which she spent the last years of her life, Anne Frank’s remarkable diary has since become a world classic—a powerful reminder of the horrors of war and an eloquent testament to the human spirit. 

In 1942, with Nazis occupying Holland, a thirteen-year-old Jewish girl and her family fled their home in Amsterdam and went into hiding.
cover_9780307737854

cover_9780307737823

Author: Anne Frank | Narrator: Kathe Mazur
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: March 23, 2010
The candid, poignant, unforgettable writing of the young girl whose own life story has become an everlasting source of courage and inspiration.

Hiding from the Nazis in the “Secret Annex” of an old office building in Amsterdam, a thirteen-year-old girl named Anne Frank became a writer.
cover_9780307737823

cover_9780739337059

Author: John Boyne | Narrator: Michael Maloney
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: September 26, 2006
BONUS FEATURE. Conversation between the author and the editor, David Fickling.

Berlin 1942

When Bruno returns home from school one day, he discovers that his belongings are being packed in crates. His father has received a promotion and the family must move from their home to a new house far far away, where there is no one to play with and nothing to do.
cover_9780739337059

cover_9781400085552

Author: Lois Lowry | Narrator: Blair Brown
Grades: 7-8
Release Date: January 13, 2004
Ten-year-old Annemarie Johansen and her best friend Ellen Rosen often think of life before the war. It's now 1943 and their life in Copenhagen is filled with school, food shortages, and the Nazi soldiers marching through town. When the Jews of Denmark are "relocated," Ellen moves in with the Johansens and pretends to be one of the family.
cover_9781400085552