Thriller Spooky Woods
7 Heart-Pounding Thrillers You Must Listen To

Shocking twists, disappearances, secrets, and murder. Those are just some of the elements that can make a story an edge-of-your-seat experience. And what better time of year to listen to a suspenseful audiobook than the dark days of winter?

So while the blustery nights are long, plug into one of these heart-pounding audiobooks for an exciting evening at home. (Psst: You may want to listen with the lights on!)

“This atmospheric mystery is masterfully constructed. . . . Nordic noir at its best.” —Booklist (starred review)

Brought together by a brutal murder, a psychological profiler who’s lost her memory and a teenage boy with a fiercely guarded secret become unwitting, unlikely partners in this race to stop a killer. Named the Best Nordic Crime Novel of the Year by the Crime Writers of Scandinavia.

“Some writers have it, and some don’t.  CJ Tudor has it big time-The Hiding Place is terrific in every way.” –Lee Child

After the way things ended with Joe’s old gang–the betrayal, the suicide, the murder–and after what happened when his sister went missing, the last thing he wanted to do was return to his hometown. But he doesn’t have a choice. Because what happened all those years ago to Joe’s sister is happening again. And only Joe knows who is really at fault.

“A solid psychological thriller with carefully developed characters and disturbing, cleverly masked revelations that will appeal to fans of Tana French and Sophie Hannah.” —Booklist

A woman is found locked in a basement, barely alive, unidentifiable: the woman can’t speak, there are no missing persons reports that match their profile, and the confused, elderly man who owns the house claims he has never seen them before. The inhabitants of the quiet street are in shock–how could this happen right under their noses? But Detective Inspector Adam Fawley knows nothing is impossible. And no one is as innocent as they seem.

Author: Andrea Bartz
Read By: Various and Kristen Sieh

“Debut author Bartz pens a captivating psychological suspense novel full of moving pieces and is expertly paced. The tension is unmatched as the pieces fall into place, but not without the protagonist second-guessing herself…This whip-smart and mysterious read is perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins.”—Library Journal (starred)

What really happened the night Edie died? Years later, her best friend Lindsay will learn how unprepared she is for the truth.

Author: Lars Kepler
Read By: Saul Reichlin

“Lars Kepler … [has] a taste for the macabre and a surefire recipe for the lurid serial-killer thriller. … This is not a book for anyone on heart medication. Kepler is a virtuoso at delivering scenes of suspense.” —Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review

Detective Margot Silverman, member of the Swedish National Crime Unit, is put in charge of an investigation involving young women who are watched via video then found dead later. Silverman asks Detective Joona Linna for help. Linna, in turn, recruits Erik Maria Bark, the hypnotist and expert in trauma, with whom Linna’s worked before. Years before, Bark had put a man away for an eerily similar crime, and now he’s beginning to think that an innocent man may be behind bars–and a serial killer still on the loose.

Author: Nick Petrie
Read By: Stephen Mendel

“Nick Petrie is pitching a perfect game….[The] story is always moving full steam ahead….Peter Ash is fast becoming one of the best characters in the thriller genre, and Tear It Down is another must-read, can’t-miss thriller.” —The Real Book Spy

Peter Ash heads to Memphis to help her friend Wanda Wyatt, a photographer and war correspondent who’s been receiving peculiar threats. At the same time, a young homeless street musician finds himself roped into a plan to rob a jewelry store, but the heist doesn’t go as planned. Soon, Peter finds himself stuck between Memphis gangsters and a Mississippi ex-con.

“Jonathan Kellerman’s psychology skills and dark imagination are a potent literary mix.”—Los Angeles Times

Psychologist Alex Delaware and detective Milo Sturgis unravel a shocking crime at a raucous wedding reception.

 

Looking for even more audiobooks like these? Browse our Thrillers and Suspense collection