Black History Month Book Club: Audiobook Picks
Book Club with Audiobooks for Black History Month—and All Year Round

Our Black History Month book club picks are here! Amplify your listening list with the audiobooks everyone’s talking about, including binge-worthy literary thrillers that will have you listening through the night and featuring star audiobook narrators whose voices will pull you deep into stories. Plus, discover the audio editions of the books lighting up this month’s Read With Jenna picks, Good Morning America Book Club, and more, and fuel your next bookish discussion with simply the best every month of the year.

A Read with Jenna Book Club Pick. Black Cake is a moving debut novel—read on audio by Lynnette R. Freeman and Simone Mcintyre—in which two estranged siblings deal with their mother’s death and her hidden past—a journey of discovery that takes them from the Caribbean to London to California and ends with her famous black cake.

“Black Cake is a character-driven, multigenerational story that’s meant to be savored…thought-provoking and poignant.”—Time

A Good Morning America GMA Book Club Pick, The Violin Conspiracy tracks about a Black classical musician’s desperate quest to recover his lost violin on the eve of the most prestigious musical competition in the world.

“[A] galvanizing blend of thriller, coming-of-age drama, and probing portrait of racism…This flawless debut will do for classical music what The Queen’s Gambit did for chess.”—Booklist

Author: Jason Mott
Read By: JD Jackson and Ronald Peet

2021 National Book Award Winner. A Read With Jenna Today Show Book Club Pick. An Ebony Magazine Publishing Book Club Pick. An astounding work of fiction from New York Times bestselling author Jason Mott, Hell of a Book is a deeply honest, at times electrically funny novel that goes to the heart of racism, police violence, and the hidden costs exacted upon Black Americans and America as a whole.

“If ever there was a piece of fiction suited to becoming an audiobook, this is it…Narrator JD Jackson’s inspired portrayal of an unnamed author on a boozy book tour has the sandy sadness of a man coming to terms with fame, race, and death. Ronald Peet, whose voice has a fine magisterial sound, delivers the parallel story of “Soot,” a 10-year-old Black boy…This bittersweet audiobook is moving and memorable”—AudioFile, Earphones Award Winner

From bestselling author Bethany C. Morrow comes Cherish Farrah, an adult social horror novel in the vein of Get Out and My Sister, the Serial Killer. Told in Farrah’s chilling, unforgettable voice (narrated by Angel Pean) and weaving in searing commentary on race and class, this slow-burn social horror will keep you on the edge of your seat until the last sentence.

Author: Kai Harris
Read By: Zenzi Williams

A Marie Claire Book Club pick. In the vein of Jesmyn Ward’s Salvage the Bones and Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees, What the Fireflies Knew is a coming-of-age novel told by almost-eleven-year-old Kenyatta Bernice (KB), as she and her sister try to make sense of their new life with their estranged grandfather in the wake of their father’s death and their mother’s disappearance.

In this 1983 short story—the only short story Morrison ever wrote—we meet Twyla and Roberta, who have known each other since they were eight years old. Seemingly at opposite ends of every problem, and at each other’s throats each time they meet, the two women still cannot deny the deep bond their shared experience has forged between them. Morrison herself described Recitatif as “an experiment in the removal of all racial codes from a narrative about two characters of different races for whom racial identity is crucial.”

“A puzzle of a story, then—a game…When [Morrison] called Recitatif an ‘experiment’ she meant it. The subject of the experiment is the reader.”—Zadie Smith, award-winning, best-selling author of White Teeth

Author: Marlon James
Read By: Bahni Turpin

From Marlon James, author of the bestselling National Book Award finalist Black Leopard, Red Wolf, comes the second in the Dark Star trilogy. In Moon Witch, Spider King, Sogolon the Moon Witch takes center stage and gives her own account of what happened to the boy, and how she plotted and fought, triumphed and failed as she looked for him. Part adventure tale, part chronicle of an indomitable woman who bows to no man, it is a fascinating novel that explores power, personality, and the places where they overlap.

Amplify your playlist every day of the year by browsing our Amplify Black Voices Collection.