Continuing Terry Brooks’s Shannara Series with The Black Elfstone

Terry Brooks’s Shannara series welcomes its newest member, The Black Elfstone, which is actually the first book of the four-part conclusion to his epic Shannara series. Listen to an excerpt THE BLACK ELFSTONE

The series spans more than two dozen novels and includes several subseries (one of which was adapted for television last year; Season 2 will air later this fall). For fans, it is a delight to read the books chronologically (in other words, not in the order they were written). For new readers, knowing where to start is a little more challenging. We suggest starting with the original series:

The Sword of Shannara
Author: Terry Brooks
Read By: Scott Brick

Long ago, wars ravaged the world. In peaceful Shady Vale, half-elfin Shea Ohmsford knows little of such troubles. Then Druid Allanon reveals that the supposedly dead Warlock Lord is plotting to destroy everything. The sole weapon against his power is the Sword of Shannara, which can be used only by a true heir of Shannara. On Shea, last of the bloodline, rests the hope of all the races.
Listen to an excerpt THE SWORD OF SHANNARA

The Wishsong of Shannara
Author: Terry Brooks
Read By: Scott Brick

The Druid Allanon sets out on a dangerous journey to save the world, reluctantly aided by Brin Ohmsford, daughter of Wil Ohmsford, for she alone holds the magic power of the wishsong. But a prophecy foretells doom, as evil nurses its plan to trap the unsuspecting Brin in a fate far more horrible than death.
Listen to an excerpt THE WISHSONG OF SHANNARA

Once you finish the original Shannara series, check out Terry Brooks’s reading-order suggestion to continue with the rest.