Dreamy Narrators for Better Bedtimes_Read to Sleep
Dreamy Narrators for Better Bedtimes

Reading to sleep has great health benefits, and listening to your favorite books on audio can add another layer of relaxation to your nighttime ritual. Arrange your pillows, turn off the light, and let the likes of Dan Stevens, Carey Mulligan, and other soothing narrators help you unwind after a long day as they lead you into a world of story.

Author: Matt Haig
Read By: Carey Mulligan

In The Midnight Library, Matt Haig’s enchanting new novel, Nora Seed is faced with the possibility of changing her life for a new one, and must search within herself as she travels through the Midnight Library to decide what makes it worth living in the first place.

“English actress Carey Mulligan narrates this wondrous audiobook about a woman’s existential journey between life and death…Mulligan’s incredible talent shines throughout as she leads listeners through a grand adventure and a deeply personal exploration of what it means to have a good life.”—AudioFile, Earphones Award Winner

An instant New York Times bestseller and an AudioFile Earphones Award winner, The Prophets is a novel that masterfully reveals the pain and suffering of inheritance, but is also shot through with hope, beauty, and the heroic power of love.

“Chilton reads with a soothing voice…Her clear and empathetic understanding of this story establishes the ambiance for the Empty plantation to come alive with vivid details that build drama and through the characters she personifies with seamless Southern and African accents.”—Booklist

Author: Anne Lamott
Read By: Anne Lamott

Full of the honesty, humor, and humanity that have made Lamott beloved by millions of readers, Dusk, Night, Dawn is classic Anne Lamott—thoughtful and comic, warm and wise: a timely memoir to nurture our better angels through difficult transitions.

“Lamott’s observations, heard in her own voice, are a wonderful way to tap into warmth and wisdom.”—AudioFile.

This debut collection of satirical stories from the former Late Show with Stephen Colbert writer and New Yorker contributor Jen Spyra is narrated by Downton Abbey’s Dan Stevens and other notable voices. Delightfully raucous and strange, Big Time takes a culture that seems almost beyond parody and holds it up to a funhouse mirror.

Read by a full cast, How Beautiful We Were is an exploration of what happens when the reckless drive for profit, coupled with the ghost of colonialism, comes up against one community’s determination to hold on to its ancestral land and a young woman’s willingness to sacrifice everything for freedom.

From the team behind the Newbery Medal winner and Caldecott Honor book Last Stop on Market Street and the award-winning New York Times bestseller Carmela Full of Wishes, Milo Imagines the World is a poignant and timely children’s audiobook that’s sure to become an instant classic.

“Narrator Dion Graham conveys the dreamy quality of Milo’s imaginings, along with a weighty message, in his captivating delivery of this thoughtful children’s story.”—AudioFile, Earphones Award Winner

Author: J.K. Rowling
Read By: Jim Dale

Jim Dale’s narration of the Harry Potter series on audio is legendary, and has been a transformative audiobook experience for thousands of readers and listeners. Filled with magic and wonder, this ALSC Notable Children’s Recording is a staple bedtime story like no other.

“Children will listen over and over again.”—Booklist

Author: Namina Forna
Read By: Shayna Small

In this New York Times bestselling YA fantasy, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice. The perfect escapist listen for teens going screen-free before bed.

“Fans of Children of Blood and Bone, Mulan, and the Dora Milaje from Black Panther are going to adore this one.”—BuzzFeed

Looking for more read-and-listen before bed suggestions? Visit Peguin Random House’s Read to Sleep pages.