Listen & Cook Internet Chicken
Get Into the Holiday Spirit With This Fool-Proof Recipe

No need to get bogged down by complicated recipes when you can make a simple, delicious meal that’s as soothing as it is low-maintenance: “Internet Chicken” from Cathy Erway’s cookbook Sheet Pan Chicken: 50 Simple and Satisfying Ways to Cook Dinner. Check out the recipe, then cue up one of these festive-feeling audiobooks to keep you company in the kitchen.

Get the recipe: Internet Chicken with Apples, Bacon, and Brussels Sprouts from Sheet Pan Chicken: 50 Simple and Satisfying Ways to Cook Dinner by Cathy Erway* (also printed below).

And for your audiobook accompaniment:

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Proposal, a dazzling audiobook about a spontaneous holiday vacation that turns into an unforgettable romance.

Author: Jean Shepherd
Read By: Dick Cavett

The 1983 holiday film A Christmas Story has become a bona fide Christmas perennial with its wacky and wryly realistic portrayal of an American family’s Christmas joys and travails. Listen to the audiobook of this beloved, bestselling classic of Americana—based on the book that inspired the film.

A New York Times bestseller. Love can transform even the best-laid plans in this heartfelt Christmas novel on audio from the queen of Christmas stories, Debbie Macomber.

A National Book Award Finalist. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Philip Pullman, this warm and sweeping historical fantasy follows two teens on a journey through the Far Country, a land of spirits and demons from the Jewish folk tradition. Narrated by the incomparable Allan Corduner.


Internet Chicken with Apples, Bacon, and Brussels Sprouts
From Sheet Pan Chicken: 50 Simple and Satisfying Ways to Cook Dinner
By Cathy Erway

Serves 4

4 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
2 tablespoons pomegranate molasses
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon minced fresh rosemary
1 tablespoon minced fresh thyme
4 bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs
Salt and black pepper
1 large sweet potato, peeled and coarsely chopped into 3⁄4-inch pieces
8 to 10 brussels sprouts, halved
2 medium Fuji apples, cored and sliced into half-moons about 3⁄4 inch thick
6 to 8 slices smoked bacon, chopped crosswise into 1-inch- wide pieces

Preheat the oven to 450°F.

In a large bowl, combine 2 tablespoons of the olive oil, the vinegar, pomegranate molasses, garlic, rosemary, and thyme. Add the chicken and season with salt and pepper. Massage the chicken with your hands (both of them!), working to distribute the herbs and seasoning evenly over the chicken. Set aside to rest at room temperature while you prepare the rest of the ingredients.

Place the sweet potato, brussels sprouts, and apples on a sheet pan. Drizzle with the remaining 2 tablespoons olive oil, then toss to evenly coat and season with salt and pepper. Spread in an even layer, turning the brussels sprouts cut-side down to get as much contact with the pan as possible.

Place the chicken thighs over the vegetable-apple mix. Scatter the chopped bacon over everything. Roast for about 30 minutes, until the chicken is well browned on top and a kitchen thermometer inserted into the thickest part of a thigh registers 160°F. Serve!

Copyright © 2020 by Cathy Erway. *Photography by Lizzie Munro.
Published by Ten Speed Press, an imprint of Penguin Random House.