Get Lost in an Audiobook, Find Yourself

Every character in these audiobooks is looking for something: ghosts, a suddenly missing parent, an otherworldly realm. While these young explorers are searching for the mysterious, they often stumble upon something they didn’t expect to find: their true selves. Spark a family conversation with these fun and thought-provoking titles–who knows what you may discover?

The students of Ms. Maybee’s class used to think history was boring, but that was before time started to get twisted! When a spaceship carrying Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin leaves 1969–and lands in 1869 Texas–cowboy Nat Love decides to trade in his horse for a trip to the moon. Can siblings Doc and Abby untwist history and get everyone back where they belong? Find out in this fun fact (and fiction!) filled audiobook, narrated by the hilarious Marc Thompson. Houston, we have a problem!

Author: Mur Lafferty
Read By: Emily Shaffer

Max and Alison are proof that differences don’t stand in the way of friendship. Max is always on the lookout for a new adventure while Alison prefers to follow the rules. But both of them are fascinated by the beat-up old journal Max finds and the strange gate its secretive author describes: a portal to an otherworldly realm. After they use the journal’s instructions to craft the portal, Max and Alison squabble over whether to remain safe in the Overworld or to journey into the Nether to find the Enchanter…until a fateful accident makes the decision for them.

Serafina makes an epic return in the fourth installment of Robert Beatty’s #1 New York Times best-selling series, narrated by the excellent Cassandra Campbell. When a pure-white fawn emerges from Biltmore Estate’s lake, Braeden is quick to befriend the mysterious creature and nurse it back to health. But Serafina feels ill-at ease-around the fawn, and is quick to suspect a connection when unsettling events take place at Biltmore. Is Serafina merely desperate to once again play the role of heroine? Or is her home in terrible danger from a strange and sinister force?

Og loves the kids in Room 26, but he’s awfully curious about the human world outside his tank! His friend Humphrey has no problem getting out and about, but it’s harder for Og because he can’t climb the way a hamster can. But Og never let hard work or fear stop him from going after what he wants. And he’s determined to help the tads in Room 26 understand that taking risks can pay off–especially when they are being true to themselves.

Author: Craig Davidson
Read By: Corey Brill

A short, irresistible, and bittersweet coming-of-age story in the vein of Stranger Things and Stand by Me about a group of misfit kids who spend an unforgettable summer investigating local ghost stories and urban legends. Jake Baker spends most of his time with his uncle Calvin, a kind but eccentric enthusiast of occult artifacts and conspiracy theories. The summer Jake turns twelve, he befriends a pair of siblings new to town, and so Calvin decides to initiate them all into the “Saturday Night Ghost Club.” But as the summer goes on, what begins as a seemingly light-hearted project may ultimately uncover more than any of its members had imagined.

SoHo, 1981. Twelve-year-old Olympia is an artist–and in her neighborhood, that’s normal. Her dad and his business partner Apollo bring antique paintings back to life, while her mother makes intricate sculptures in a corner of their loft, leaving Ollie to roam the streets of New York with her best friends Richard and Alex, drawing everything that catches her eye. Then everything falls apart. Ollie’s dad disappears in the middle of the night, leaving her only a cryptic note and instructions to destroy it. Everyone is acting strange, and Olympia knows her dad is the key to figuring out why–but first, she has to find him, and time is running out.