Handmaid's Tale Listen Alikes
If You Like The Handmaid’s Tale, Try These Audiobooks

Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale is one of those special must-read classics that leaves you hungry for more. Luckily, Atwood’s sequel, The Testaments, will be arriving later this year so fans can travel back to Gilead.

While you wait, though, there are plenty of enthralling audiobooks that you can listen to if you love The Handmaid’s Tale. Check them out:

The Children of Men
Author: P. D. James
Read By: David Case

In England in 2021, all human males have become sterile and no child will be born again. The final generation has turned twenty-five, and civilization is giving way to strange faiths and cruelties, mass suicides and despair. Theodore Faron, Oxford historian and cousin to the omnipotent Warden of England, a dictator of great subtlety, has resigned himself to apathy. Then he meets Julian, a bright, attractive woman, who wants Theo to join her circle of unlikely revolutionaries, a move that may shatter his shell of passivity…and maybe hold the key to survival for the human race.

COMING JUNE 18!
She survived against all odds. The first girl born in fifty years. They called her EVE. Kept protected, towering above a ruined world under a glass dome of safety until she is ready to renew the human race. But when the time comes to find a suitor, Eve and Bram—a young man whose job is to prepare Eve for this moment—begin to question the plan they’ve known all along.

Author: Joanne Ramos
Read By: Fran de Leon

Nestled in New York’s Hudson Valley is a luxury retreat boasting every amenity: organic meals, personal fitness trainers, daily massages—and all of it for free. In fact, you’re paid big money to stay here—more than you’ve ever dreamed of. The catch? For nine months, you cannot leave the grounds, your movements are monitored, and you are cut off from your former life while you dedicate yourself to the task of producing the perfect baby. For someone else.

The Farm is a smart, thoughtful novel about women, choices, and the immigrant experience that asks the question: How far would you go for the American dream?”—PopSugar

COMING JUNE 25!
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the desert far away from the sins and depravity of the outside world. Even if she’s forced, as a girl, to quiet her tongue when she has thoughts she wants to share, Miriam knows that New Jerusalem is a far better life than any alternative. So when God calls for a Matrimony, she’s thrilled; she knows that Caleb, the boy she loves, will choose her to be his wife and they can finally start their life together. But when the ceremony goes wrong and Miriam winds up with someone else, she can no longer keep quiet. For the first time, Miriam begins to question not only the rules set in place, but also what it is she believes in, and where she truly belongs.

On the day the government decrees that women are no longer allowed more than one hundred words per day, Dr. Jean McClellan is in denial. This can’t happen here. Not in America. Not to her. Soon women are not permitted to hold jobs. Girls are not taught to read or write. Females no longer have a voice, but Jean will reclaim hers.

“Narrator Julia Whelan brings this realistic, thought-provoking debut to life with heart.”—AudioFile, Earphones Award Winner

Longlisted for the 2018 Man Booker Prize
A dystopic feminist fantasy about three sisters on an isolated island raised to fear men. When their father, the only man they’ve ever seen, disappears, they retreat further inward until the day two men and a boy wash ashore. Over the span of one blistering hot week, a psychological cat-and-mouse game plays out.

“Three narrators deliver this grim dreamlike story about young women raised on an isolated island in a dystopian future…this is a captivating production.”—AudioFile

And, mark your calendars for the long-awaited sequel to The Handmaid’s Tale!

COMING SEPTEMBER 10!
In this brilliant sequel to The Handmaid’s Tale, acclaimed author Margaret Atwood answers the questions that have tantalized readers for decades. Margaret Atwood’s sequel picks up the story fifteen years after Offred stepped into the unknown, with the explosive testaments of three female narrators from Gilead.