Joyful & Sparkling Holiday Listens for All Ages

One of the many joys of the holidays is throwing oneself hook, line, and snowball into a Theme, with a capital “T.” Decorate the whole house, listen to the Chipmunks album on repeat while dancing around wrapped in tinsel, spin your dreidel like a pro, or spend inordinate amounts of time on “the trimmings.” The more into it you get, the more joyful it all becomes. To help get you started, we’ve created a list of holiday audiobooks for all ages. Each is brimming with celebratory fizz, although you will have to bring your own dancing tinsel.

Holiday Listens for Kids, Young Adults, and Families
(for Adult holiday listens CLICK HERE):

The Christmasaurus
Author: Tom Fletcher
Read By: Paul Shelley

Why settle for a pony or a puppy for Christmas when you could have a dinosaur? A rollicking audiobook from singer-songwriter and YouTuber Tom Fletcher, read by Earphones Award-winning narrator Paul Shelley.

Dreidels on the Brain

It’s Hannukah, 1971, and Joel is the only Jewish student at Bixby School, where his attempts to make himself disappear fail spectacularly. Home is no better, with a family that’s not just embarrassing but flat-out broke. That’s why Joel’s betting everything on these eight nights, armed with his favorite jokes, some choice Yiddish words, and a suitcase full of magic tricks. Little does he know that what’s actually about to happen to him and his family this Hanukkah will be worse than he’d feared…and better than he could have imagined.

Carols and Chaos

From the author of Suitors and Sabotage comes a swoon-worthy young adult Christmas adventure read by superstar narrator Fiona Hardingham and perfect for fans of Jane Austen and Downton Abbey. Full of sweetness, charm, and holiday mischief, Carols and Chaos is for listeners who like their historical fiction with a side of romance and danger.

In the Land of Happy Tears: Yiddish Tales for Modern Times

The holidays are a time for sharing stories, and this audio collection offers access to modern Yiddish works–translated for the first time into English–for anyone who appreciates a well-told story rich with timeless wisdom. A year-round audiobook for families that is also a great Hannukah listen! Includes a comprehensive introduction on Yiddish culture.

My True Love Gave to Me
Author:
Read By: Various

If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, and made-for-TV-holiday specials, you’re going to fall in love with My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by twelve bestselling young adult writers (Holly Black, Ally Carter, Matt de La Peña, Gayle Forman, Jenny Han, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Rainbow Rowell, Stephanie Perkins, Laini Tayler and Kiersten White), edited by the international bestselling Stephanie Perkins. Whether you celebrate Christmas or Hanukkah, Winter Solstice or Kwanzaa, there’s something here for everyone. So curl up by the fireplace and get cozy. You have twelve reasons this season to stay indoors and fall in love.

Snowmen at Christmas

Have you ever wondered what snowmen do for Christmas? Well, here’s your chance to find out! The snowmen are back in town, and this time they’re celebrating Christmas in this jolly companion to the New York Times bestseller Snowmen at Night. Told in the same bouncy verse as the original, Snowmen at Christmas is perfect for a snowy evening listen.

The Autobiography of Santa Claus

An enchanting holiday listen, The Autobiography of Santa Claus combines historical fact with legend to deliver the definitive story of Santa Claus. And who better to lead us through seventeen centuries of Christmas magic than good ol’ Saint Nick himself? Families will delight in each chapter of this new Christmas classic—one for each cold December night leading up to Christmas!

Froggy's Best Christmas

Froggy has never celebrated Christmas; usually he’s taking his long winter’s nap. But not this year! Froggy’s best friend, Max the beaver, wakes him up to join the fun. Soon, Froggy’s gotten into the swing of things: finding a tree, wrapping presents, singing carols, and enjoying a holiday feast. Join Froggy as he celebrates his very first, and very best, Christmas!

A Katie Kazoo Christmas
Author: Nancy Krulik
Read By: Lauren Davis

Katie can’t wait for the holidays. Her motorcycle-riding grandma is coming to visit, class 4A is having a Secret Santa grab bag, and it’s almost time for Cherrydale’s annual holiday lights display contest. But even the busy holiday season doesn’t stop the magic wind! Join Katie in these three separate holiday stories and find out how she handles the holiday hijinks!

Holiday Listens for Adults:

One Day in December

One Day In December is a Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick! As Reese herself says: “Get ready to be swept up in a whirlwind romance. Laurie falls in love at first sight with a stranger, and spends the next year looking for him. Fate brings them back together at Christmas, but not in the way anybody expects: turns out he’s dating her best friend. It absolutely charmed me, and I can’t wait to share it with y’all.”—Reese Witherspoon

An Unwanted Guest
Author: Shari Lapena
Read By: Hillary Huber

And in the holiday scaries category (because what’s cozier than a snowed-in suspense?), An Unwanted Guest is a twisty new thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Couple Next Door and A Stranger in the House. A weekend retreat at a cozy mountain lodge is supposed to be the perfect getaway…but when the storm hits, no one is getting away. Plug in some festive lights…and then lock your doors.

Mutts and Mistletoe
Author: Natalie Cox
Read By: Marisa Calin

Charlie isn’t in the mood for Christmas cheer. Her boyfriend left her, her family is scattered, and her London apartment has just been destroyed by a gas leak. Single, mildly concussed and temporarily homeless, Charlie realizes there’s only one place to go: Cozy Canine Cottages, where she’ll spend the season looking after her cousin’s doggy day care center. As the days tick down to Christmas, Charlie’s life has never felt so out of control–but with some help from her new four-legged friends, she just might learn a thing or two about living in the moment, embracing the unexpected and opening herself up to love…

“Such a funny, sparky book…An ideal read for anyone who’s a fan of Christmas or dogs–or both!”—Sophie Kinsella, New York Times bestselling author

Alaskan Holiday

Every year we look forward to New York Times Bestselling author Debbie Macomber’s holiday audiobooks, and this year in Alaskan Holiday she brings us to the Alaskan wilderness for a magical Christmas tale about finding love where it’s least expected and the far journeys we travel to find a place to call home.

“Macomber brings her signature charm to this appealing tale of an aspiring chef…This charmer will please Macomber fans and newcomers alike.”—Publishers Weekly

For more on how to bring the magic of audio into your holiday celebrations, visit our Holiday House!