What to Listen to if You Loved Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

Oh, Eleanor Oliphant, our favorite vodka-slugging, deadpan weirdo. There’s no one quite like her, and we’ve missed her ever since Cathleen McCarron read the last word of the audiobook. Lucky for us (and you, dear listener), the literary world is full of oddballs to fall in love with.

Zee is nobody’s fairy -tale princess. Almost six-foot, with a redhead’s temper and a shattered hip, her list of worries is long. Gentry, on the other hand, is an actual knight, complete with sword, armor, and a code of honor. Two years ago he was called to be Zee’s champion. Both shy and autistic, he’s barely spoken to her since, but he has kept watch, ready to come to her aid. When an abduction tears Zee’s family apart, she turns to Gentry and sets in motion a chain of events that will change both of their lives. Read by a full cast.

Author: Richard Roper
Read By: Simon Vance

Andrew’s been feeling stuck. For years he’s worked a thankless public health job, searching for the next-of -kin of those who die alone. Luckily, he goes home to a loving family every night. At least, that’s what his coworkers believe. Then he meets Peggy, who breezes into the office like a breath of fresh air, and makes Andrew feel truly alive for the first time in decades. For twenty years, Andrew has worked to keep his heart safe, forgetting one important thing: how to live. Maybe it’s time for him to start. Uncover the truth in How Not to Die Alone, read by the delightful Simon Vance.

Fourteen-year-old Cindy and her two older brothers live in rural Pennsylvania, in a house with occasional electricity, two fierce dogs, one book, and a mother who comes and goes for months at a time. So when a glamorous teen from a more affluent, cultured home goes missing, Cindy escapes her own family’s poverty and slips into the missing teen’s life. As Cindy experiences overwhelming maternal love for the first time, she must reckon with her own heartbreaks—and her own deceits—in this quirky audiobook read by Kristen Sieh.

Some friendships, like romance, have the feeling of fate. Skinny, orphaned Dores is working in the kitchen of a sugar plantation in 1930s Brazil when in walks a girl who changes everything. Graça, the spoiled daughter of a wealthy sugar baron, is clever, well fed, pretty, and thrillingly ill-behaved. Born into wildly different worlds, Dores and Graça quickly bond over shared mischief, and then, on a deeper level, over music. The Air You Breathe unfurls a moving portrait of a lifelong friendship–its unparalleled rewards and lasting losses–and considers what we owe to the relationships that shape our lives.

Coming in 2020!

The Love Story of Missy Carmichael
Author: Beth Morrey

The world has changed around Missy Carmichael. At seventy-nine, she’s estranged from her daughter, her son lives across the world in Australia, and her great love is gone. Missy spends her days sipping sherry, scrubbing the kitchen in her big empty house, and reliving her past. The last thing Missy expects is for two perfect strangers and one spirited dog to break through her prickly exterior and show Missy just how much love she still has to give. Fall in love with this “coming-of-old” audiobook.

The Authenticity Project
Author: Clare Pooley

“Everybody lies about their lives. What would happen if you shared the truth?”

This is the question that Julian Jessop, an eccentric, seventy-nine-year-old artist poses within a pale green exercise book that he labels The Authenticity Project, before leaving it behind in Monica’s Café. When Monica discovers Julian’s abandoned notebook, not only does she add her own story to the book, she is determined to find a way to help Julian feel less lonely. And so it goes with the others who find the green notebook that will soon contain their deepest selves. With a cast of characters who are by turns quirky and funny, heartbreakingly sad and painfully true-to-life, The Authenticity Project is an audiobook listeners will take to their hearts .