"This may be the most charming book I’ve read all year." --The New York Times
 
"I don’t know when I last read a book with such pure and unalloyed pleasure." –Philip Pullman, internationally bestselling author of the His Dark Materials series
 
Winner of the Mildred L. Batchelder award, this is a captivating story about dark truths and heinous crimes as well as unexpected friendships, with detailed black-and-white illustrations throughout. Perfect for fans of Brian Selznick and mystery and detective stories.
 
Sally Jones is not only a loyal friend, she’s an extraordinary individual. In overalls or in a maharaja’s turban, this unique gorilla moves among humans without speaking but understanding everything. She and the Chief are devoted comrades who operate a cargo boat. A job they are offered pays big bucks, but the deal ends badly, and the Chief is falsely convicted of murder.
 
For Sally Jones this is the start of a harrowing quest for survival and to clear the Chief's name. Powerful forces are working against her, and they will do anything to protect their secrets.
"Slyly funny and poignant . . . a thrilling adventure."--Caldecott Medal winner Paul O. Zelinsky

"This may be the most charming book I've read all year. It's a challenge to build a story around a protagonist who can't speak, and Wegelius does this skillfully, emphasizing qualities that make us human." — The New York Times Book Review

"Features a complex mystery, an intricately constructed narrative, and deep characters. Committed, careful readers will be richly rewarded." — Kirkus Reviews, Starred

"A richly imagined and thoroughly unique adventure." — Booklist, Starred

"A thrilling adventure. Prepare to meet the remarkable Sally Jones; you won't soon forget her."--PW, Starred

"A new animal heroine has arrived on the scene. An unusual and oddly charming adventure."--SLJ

"Award-winning Swedish writer and illustrator Jakob Wegelius weaves together a head-spinning story of mystery, intrigue, love and adventure, beautifully translated by Peter Graves."--Shelf Awareness

" . . . gorgeous, clever, and memorable."--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books