“[A] rousing mash-up of military SF thriller and paranormal adventure . . . Scarlett is a resourceful and endearing heroine.”—Publishers Weekly

What if you had a power you had to hide from everyone—until now? In this bold sci-fi action thriller, a secret training program at West Point is turning misfits into a new generation of heroes.


Scarlett Winter has always been an outsider, and not only because she’s a hardcore daredevil and born troublemaker—she has been hiding superhuman powers she doesn’t yet understand. Now she’s been recruited by a secret West Point unit for cadets with extraordinary abilities. Scarlett and her fellow students are learning to hone their skills, from telekinetic combat to running recon missions through strangers’ dreamscapes. At The Point, Scarlett discovers that she may be the most powerful cadet of all. With the power to control pure energy, she’s a human nuclear bomb—and she’s not sure she can control her powers much longer.

Even in this army of outsiders, Scarlett feels like a misfit all over again, but when a threat that endangers her fellow students arises from the school’s dark past, duty calls and Scarlett must make a choice between being herself and becoming something even greater: a hero.

Praise for The Point

“An exciting military SF adventure . . . This action-packed military thriller keeps a fast pace and will appeal to fans of X-Men’s Charles Xavier’s School for Gifted Youngsters and TV military series such as The Unit and SEAL Team.”Library Journal

“A thrilling mix of SF and coming-of-age story.”Booklist
 
“This ‘school for superheroes’ sci-fi action thriller moves faster than a speeding bullet.”Kirkus Reviews
More Than Human meets Dress Gray in Dixon’s rousing mash-up of military SF thriller and paranormal adventure. . . . Anyone who can buy the concept of a secret supernatural society beneath West Point will thrill to Scarlett’s adventures. . . . Scarlett is a resourceful and endearing heroine.”Publishers Weekly

“An exciting military SF adventure . . . This action-packed military thriller keeps a fast pace and will appeal to fans of X-Men’s Charles Xavier’s School for Gifted Youngsters and TV military series such as The Unit and SEAL Team.”Library Journal

“A thrilling mix of SF and coming-of-age story.”Booklist
 
“This ‘school for superheroes’ sci-fi action thriller moves faster than a speeding bullet.”Kirkus Reviews