Readers of Kate Atkinson will delight in this suspenseful and romantic debut novel about a woman haunted by nightmares and her grandmother's role in a doomed love triangle almost seventy years before.
 
Death, accidental and early, has always been Abby Walters's preoccupation. Now thirty-three and eager to settle down with her commitment-shy boyfriend, a recurring dream from her past returns: a paralyzing nightmare of being buried alive, the taste of dirt in her mouth cloying and real. But this time the dream reveals a name from her family's past. Looking for answers, Abby returns home to small-town Minnesota for the first time in fourteen years, where she reconnects with her high school crush, now a police detective on the trail of a violent criminal. When Abby tries on her grandmother's mesmerizing diamond ring, a ring she always dreamed would be hers, she discovers a cryptic note long hidden beneath the box's velvet lining. What secret was her grandmother hiding? And could this be the key to what's haunting Abby? As she begins to uncover the traces of a love triangle gone shockingly wrong nearly seventy years before, we, too, see that the layers of our lives may echo a past we’ve never known.
         

Cast of Narrators:
Emily Rankin, as Abby
MacLeod Andrews, as Aidan
Cassandra Campbell, as Claire
Kim Mai Guest, as Eva
Scott Brick, as William
     
"Artfully weaving the past and present together, You Were Here is a stunning tapestry of a novel full of dreams, nightmares, horrific crimes and long-buried secrets. Gian Sardar shows us the ways in which the past can reach out and take hold of the present; that places and objects hold memories and time is not the linear thing we think it to be." —Jennifer McMahon, New York Times bestselling author of The Night Sister

"Sardar's characters are well-developed and her prose is dreamlike, at times reading very much like poetry. . . . [T]his deftly executed study of the dark that lies in the human heart is artfully drawn. An impressive . . . debut with a touch of the otherworldly." Kirkus Reviews

"[B]eautifully written . . . this first novel will appeal to readers of Christina Schwarz and Diane Chamberlain." —Library Journal

"[An] intricately plotted first novel . . . Sardar keeps the tension high to the very end." —Publishers Weekly

"Prepare to be dazzled by hauntingly masterful storytelling! Packed with delicious prose and page-turning intrigue, You Were Here is a remarkable and unforgettable debut." —Susan Meissner, author of Secrets of a Charmed Life

"You Were Here
is a beautiful puzzle box of a booka page-turner that manages to also be strikingly poetic. I was gripped from the very first page, and moved by the time I made it to the last." —Janelle Brown, bestselling author of All We Ever Wanted Was Everything
 
"Sardar creates a suspenseful tale sure to keep readers entertained … The characters are intriguing; Sardar does well at developing them and unfolding them at the right time to reveal just enough to hold readers attention. You Were Here is a unique read that does not disappoint." RT Book Review

“A nail-biting thriller, a tragic love story from the past, a very contemporary romance, a genuinely scary ghost story with a full-out gothic finale that would make Edgar Allen Poe sit up and applaud—Gian Sardar has confidently and seamlessly woven all these genres into a novel that is completely original and relentlessly engaging. You Were Here is a bravura, genre-busting performance.” —Valerie Martin, award-winning author of Mary Reilly and Property

"What if love is so powerful that it gives us access to mysterious unseen worlds? This question is at the heart of Gian Sardar’s dizzying and seductive debut novel. As I was reading You Were Here, I kept wondering about  the nature—and value—of love, marriage, and the complex space between. Modern and timeless, part thrilling detective story, part ghost story, part love story, Sardar’s debut is an evocative literary cocktail. I couldn’t put it down!" —Sari Wilson, author of Girl Through Glass
 
You Were Here is a terrific debut that beautifully spins the tale of two love stories—one set in the past and the other in the present—coiled together by longing, betrayal, and rage that unravel to a stunning and deeply satisfying conclusion. Gian Sardar is a writer to watch.” —Carla Buckley, author of The Good Goodbye and The Things That Keep Us Here

More About The Author

More About The Narrator