What really happened the night Edie died? Years later, her best friend Lindsay will learn how unprepared she is for the truth in this “impressive debut” (People) from the New York Times bestselling author of the Reese’s Book Club pick We Were Never Here.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BuzzFeed Glamour Real Simple Marie Claire Library Journal Booklist CrimeReads


In 2009, Edie had New York’s social world in her thrall. Mercurial and beguiling, she was the shining star of a group of recent graduates living in a Brooklyn loft and treating New York like their playground. When Edie’s body was found near a suicide note at the end of a long, drunken night, no one could believe it. Grief, shock, and resentment scattered the group and brought the era to an abrupt end.
 
A decade later, Lindsay has come a long way from the drug-addled world of Calhoun Lofts. She has devoted best friends, a cozy apartment, and a thriving career as a magazine’s head fact-checker. But when a chance reunion leads Lindsay to discover an unsettling video from that hazy night, she starts to wonder if Edie was actually murdered—and, worse, if she herself was involved. As she rifles through those months in 2009—combing through case files, old technology, and her fractured memories—Lindsay is forced to confront the demons of her own violent history to bring the truth to light.
I Know What You Did Last Summer meets The Girl on the Train in Andrea Bartz’s addictive debut novel.”Marie Claire

“If you couldn’t get enough of TBS’s Search Party or more recently Netflix’s Russian Doll, pick up a copy of The Lost Night . . . [A] haunting debut.”Glamour

“A twisty, tightly plotted thriller set among the hipsters of Brooklyn.”Refinery29

“Poised to be one of the most talked-about books of the winter.”Bustle

The Lost Night has some of the best plot twists you’ll read all year long.”HelloGiggles

“We bet that when you reach the final page, you’ll cry, ‘That ending!’ Read this smart, engrossing novel now.”Real Simple

“A compelling story that will leave you guessing until the final page.”Parade

“Twisty and unpredictable, The Lost Night will keep you guessing—and might make you reexamine your own past.”BuzzFeed

“A strong, atmospheric debut steeped in the lush details of Brooklyn in the late aughts . . . Expect to read a great deal more from Bartz in the future.”CrimeReads

“If you’re looking for a new thriller that will have your mind and heart racing, add The Lost Night to your list.”Rachael Ray magazine

“Tightly paced and skillfully plotted, The Lost Night is a remarkable debut.”—Jessica Knoll, New York Times bestselling author of Luckiest Girl Alive
 
“A compulsively readable journey into the dark corners of memory . . . Bartz has crafted a terrifying and delicious narrative in the vein of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins.”—Jo Piazza, bestselling coauthor of The Knockoff

“Andrea Bartz casts a nostalgic, misty haze over this story about a meticulous-minded woman playing detective with her own life. If you’ve ever woken up unsure of what happened the night before and then proceeded to do it again . . . oh my, this is your book.”—Caroline Kepnes, author of You and Providence

“It kept me flipping pages so intensely that I actually missed my stop on the subway.”—Jill Santopolo, New York Times bestselling author of The Light We Lost

“A juicy thriller wrapped up in a vivid nostalgia trip.”—Janelle Brown, bestselling author of Watch Me Disappear

“I loved this very cool thriller that puts you bang in the middle of New York’s hippest crowd. I read it in two days!”—CJ Tudor, author of The Chalk Man

“Exciting, gripping, disquieting . . . a magnificent examination of the dark corners of our souls. Andrea Bartz has written this season's must-read novel.”—Rene Denfeld, bestselling author of The Child Finder