A brand-new epic fantasy adventure set in the beloved world of the Demon Cycle, following a new generation of heroes, from New York Times bestselling author Peter V. Brett
 
“Heart-wrenching, smart, and modern . . . The Desert Prince has set a new standard for fantasy.”—Wesley Chu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The War Arts Saga

Fifteen years have passed since the end of the war with demons, creatures of darkness who have hunted the night and plagued humanity since time out of mind. The heroes of humanity’s hour of need have become legend, and those who remain struggle to escape their shadows.
 
Olive Paper and Darin Bales have grown up in this new peaceful world. Demons have been all but destroyed, but dangers still lurk for the children of heroes.
 
Olive, Princess of Hollow, has her entire life planned out by her mother, Duchess Leesha Paper: a steady march on a checklist to prepare her for succession. The more her mother writes the script, the more Olive rails against playing the parts she is assigned.
 
Darin faces challenges of a different kind. Though free to choose his own path, the weight of legacy hangs heavy around his shoulders. It isn’t easy being the son of the man people say saved the world. Everyone expects greatness from Darin, but the only thing he’s ever been great at is hiding.
 
But when Olive and Darin step across the wards one night, they learn the demons are not all gone, and those that remain hunger for revenge. Events are set in motion that only prophecy can foresee as Olive and Darin seek to find their own places in the world in time to save it again.
“An intricately crafted tale of intrigue and courage where one’s station and lineage determine everything, good and bad . . . an exciting read . . . Peter Brett has outdone himself with this first book in a new series.”—Terry Brooks

The Desert Prince is the work of a master at the top of his game. The new cast of would-be heroes instantly draws you into a world full of old dangers as Brett cranks up the tension to unbearable levels. If you’re going to read this book, cancel all your plans, because there’s no way you’ll be able to put it down once you start.”—Mike Shackle, author of We Are the Dead

“Peter Brett takes the reader with him and his characters on an electric and unrelenting charge through the demon-haunted depths of the Warded universe, full of love and death.”—Naomi Novik, New York Times bestselling author of A Deadly Education

Praise for Peter V. Brett’s Demon Cycle

“Fans of epic fantasy in the tradition of Robert Jordan and George R. R. Martin will enjoy the arrival of a strong voice in multivolume epic fantasy.”Library Journal

The Warded Man works not only as a great adventure novel, but as a reflection on the nature of heroism.”—Charlaine Harris, New York Times bestselling author

“The most significant and cinematic fantasy epic since The Lord of the Rings—inspired, compelling, and totally addictive!”—Paul W. S. Anderson, director of Resident Evil: Afterlife

“Peter V. Brett is one of my favorite new authors.”—Patrick Rothfuss, New York Times bestselling author of The Name of the Wind

“[Brett is] at the top of his game.”Tordotcom

“[A] fast-paced and thoroughly enjoyable dark fantasy.”The Miami Herald