She befriended the one woman she was never supposed to meet. Now she's the key suspect in her disappearance. For fans of The Perfect Mother and The Wife Between Us comes a gripping psychological suspense debut about two strangers, one incredible connection, and the steep price of obsession.

Lana Stone has never considered herself a stalker--until the night she impulsively follows a familiar face through the streets of New York's Upper West Side. Her target? The "anonymous" egg donor she'd selected through an agency, the one who's making motherhood possible for her. Hungry to learn more about her, Lana plans only to watch her from a distance. But when circumstances bring them face-to-face, an unexpected friendship is born.

Katya, a student at Columbia, is the yin to Lana's yang, an impulsive free spirit who lives life at the edge. And for pragmatic Lana, she's a breath of fresh air and a welcome distraction from her painful breakup with her baby's father. Then, just as suddenly as Katya entered Lana's life, she disappears--and Lana might have been the last person to see her before she went missing. Determined to find out what became of the woman to whom she owes so much, Lana digs into Katya's past, even as the police grow suspicious of her motives. But she's unprepared for the secrets she unearths, and their power to change everything she thought she knew about those she loves best...
One of...

O Magazine
's "The 25 Best Beach Reads of the Year so Far"
New York Post
's "25 Best Beach Reads of 2019 You Need to Pre-order Now"
Popsugar’s “25 New Thrillers and Mysteries to Sink Your Teeth Into This Summer”
InStyle’s “12 Books to Add to Your Summer Reading List”

More Praise for Her Daughter's Mother

“Beyond the beautiful cover, Daniela Petrova's debut novel is absolutely dreamy and suspenseful.”—O, The Oprah Magazine

“If you read one thriller this month, make it Her Daughter’s Mother.”—HelloGiggles (“Best New Books to Read in June”)

“[An] impressive debut…burning questions will keep readers on the edge of their seats…a gripping tale of the consequences of obsession. Petrova is off to a promising start.”—Publishers Weekly

“Petrova has written a consummate page-turner that also manages incredible layers of emotional depth. This is one of the year’s most provocative and eye-opening novels.”—Crime Reads

“[Her Daughter’s Mother] is ultimately rewarding…its darkness and wild resolution will appeal to many readers.”—Booklist

“[A] suspenseful, contemporary, and twisty thriller.”—Kirkus Reviews

“I haven’t read a story that’s kept me guessing like this one has in a while...This is a unique page-turner that will have readers speculating how it’ll end from the beginning.”—Ms. Magazine (“June 2019 Reads for the Rest of Us”)

“A great choice for fans of The Girl On the Train and The Wife Between Us.”—The Uniontown Herald Standard

Her Daughter's Mother had me from the very first page. With a dazzling plot; complex, unforgettable characters; and gorgeous prose that mines the dangerous depths of obsession, Daniela Petrova's debut is undoubtedly going to be the book everyone will want to read this summer.”—Aimee Molloy, New York Times bestselling author of The Perfect Mother 

Her Daughter's Mother has all the hallmarks of great psychological suspense: a compelling mystery, a cast of intriguing and suspicious characters, and plenty of stunning surprises. But it is the journey of the novel's protagonists--each trying to find family, connection, and redemption--that makes this page-turner a tender, moving story you won't soon forget.”—Megan Collins, author of The Winter Sister

“Taut pacing, relatable characters, and a twisty, surprising plot combine in this tense and poignant thriller. Secrets and obsession leave their mark in this unputdownable story—a remarkable debut.”—Megan Miranda, New York Times bestselling author of All the Missing Girls, The Perfect Stranger, and The Last House Guest

“Captivating and powerful, Her Daughter’s Mother is both a thought-provoking story about the ethical gray area one woman stumbles into on her quest for motherhood, and a twisty thriller about another woman’s abrupt disappearance. Secrets, obsession, lies, betrayals big and small—they’re all here in this expertly paced novel that will keep readers guessing right up until the very last page.”—Kathleen Barber, author of Are You Sleeping

“This moving, heartfelt thriller surprised me again and again. Lana’s journey to becoming a mother is poignant and suspenseful, even without the added element of her egg donor’s disappearance. The turns of this story ratchet up the intrigue, making Her Daughter’s Mother one of the most gripping books I’ve read in years...A sure-footed, memorable debut.”—Erica Wright, author of The Blue Kingfisher