THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! 

For readers of Kara Thomas and Karen McManus, an addictive, twisty crime thriller with shades of Serial and Making a Murderer about a closed local murder case that doesn't add up, and a girl who's determined to find the real killer--but not everyone wants her meddling in the past.


Everyone in Fairview knows the story.

Pretty and popular high school senior Andie Bell was murdered by her boyfriend, Sal Singh, who then killed himself. It was all anyone could talk about. And five years later, Pip sees how the tragedy still haunts her town.

But she can't shake the feeling that there was more to what happened that day. She knew Sal when she was a child, and he was always so kind to her. How could he possibly have been a killer?

Now a senior herself, Pip decides to reexamine the closed case for her final project, at first just to cast doubt on the original investigation. But soon she discovers a trail of dark secrets that might actually prove Sal innocent . . . and the line between past and present begins to blur. Someone in Fairview doesn't want Pip digging around for answers, and now her own life might be in danger.

This is the story of an investigation turned obsession, full of twists and turns and with an ending you'll never expect.

"The perfect nail-biting mystery." --Natasha Preston, #1 New York Times bestselling author 
"The perfect nail-biting mystery." --Natasha Preston, #1 New York Times bestselling author 

“A fun, gripping, and skillfully constructed novel of suspense. I loved Pip—her relatable quirks, her inventive investigative approach, and her willingness to step outside of her safe world in search of the truth.” —Emily Arsenault, author of All the Pretty Things

"Dark, dangerous and intricately plotted—my heart literally pounded." Laura Steven, author of The Exact Opposite of Okay

"So so clever." —Savannah Brown, author of The Truth About Keeping Secrets

"The book pulled me into it so hard that I forgot everything going on around me, I just needed to solve the murder with Pip."—PopSugar

Well-executed…. A treat for mystery readers who enjoy being kept in suspense.—Kirkus Reviews

"Legions of fans of true crime podcasts may therefore flock to this one, and they’re unlikely to be disappointed." —Bulletin

"Fans of true crime will be hooked by the hunt for a killer, but there’s more to this Guide than just a whodunit. It’s a story of families, community and the ways a crisis can turn them against one another in the blink of an eye." BookPage