"This is my favorite book of the year." —Lincoln Peirce, New York Times bestselling author of Big Nate series
 
Meet Ben, a literal-minded kid with a big heart and an even bigger sweet-tooth, who cracks open a fortune cookie and discovers that TODAY might be his last day on Earth! Perfect for fans of DIARY OF A WIMPY KID or THE TERRIBLE TWO.

Live each day as if it were your last.

When Ben reads his fortune-cookie fortune, he's alarmed and inspired. Immediately, he begins drafting a bucket list of unfinished tasks and lifelong dreams (finish his 1000-piece model of the Taj Mahal, eat an entire cake, etc....). As Ben marches himself in and out of trouble, takes useful risks, and helps both his parents to see the bigger picture, readers discover how something that seems scary can instead be empowering--leading to friendships that might never have been made, neighbors that might never have been known, and apple pies that might otherwise never have been baked.
"This is my favorite book of the year. Great characters, hilarious jokes, and delightful drawings make each page a joy to read." —Lincoln Peirce, New York Times bestselling author of Big Nate

“Full of humor, heart, and glorious art, The Cookie Chronicles are baked to perfection.” —Tui Sutherland, New York Times bestselling author of Wings of Fire

“Hugely heartfelt, very funny, and delightfully illustrated, Ben Yokoyama and the Cookie of Doom is sure to be deeply loved by young readers.” —Jasmine Warga, Newbery Honor author of Other Words For Home
 
“Our time on Earth is limited. Cookies are delicious. These are two of life’s most important truths, and this marvelous book contains both of them. If I could, I would eat it.” —Lemony Snicket, New York Times bestselling author of A Series of Unfortunate Events
 
“WARNING: This book will make you crave noodles. And cake. And more Ben Yokoyama books, because they’re amazing!” —Susan Tan, author of the Cilla Lee Jenkins series

“A great blend of witty text and dynamic illustrations. My family can't get enough of Ben Yokoyama!” —Minh Lê, author of Drawn Together

“Full of laughs and excitement.” —Kirkus Reviews