From the New York Times bestselling author of We Must Be Brave comes a new sweeping historical novel about one couple’s journey through war, love, and loss, and how the people we love never really leave us.

 
1942, Alexandria, Egypt. Covered in dust, Yvette and James hold hands for the first time as bombs explode above them. As World War II rages on, they will find their way back to each other time and again, their love a beacon for their survival. After the war, they make a life together in England, where happiness takes root and blossoms, until a tragic event drives a wedge between them. The path back to one another is uncharted territory that both must be brave enough to face. 
 
1974, England. Ten years after his wife’s death, James moves to the English village of Upton seeking change. There he discovers a scarf that lights the dark edges of his memory. Could it be Yvette's? As James makes a new home for himself, he begins to unlock revelations about his past that just might return his lost faith to him—faith in humanity, in himself, and perhaps most important of all, his faith in love. 
 
Captivating and inspiring, Think of Me explores the power of love to echo across the years, and its power to save. 
Advance Praise for Think of Me

“Now feels like the perfect moment for this book.  A beautifully written story of lives devastated by war and loss, it’s a love letter to life itself, about the power of kindness and patient resilience to make us whole again. Subtle and richly evoked, it's refreshingly authentic to its era, yet timeless in its profound understanding of love, grief and the slow blossoming of solace. It is so good to be reminded that the path from desolation to consolation has always been well-worn, lit by that most vital human instinct - hope.”—M. L. Stedman, author of The Light Between Oceans

“An utterly charming, heartbreaking and beautifully captured story of love, friendship and sacrifice. It will stay with you long after you close the pages.” —Helen Simonson, author of Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand
 
“An epic and intensely moving novel that crosses the boundaries of place and time to weave a powerful story about overcoming the complications of love and grief - the things we try to spare one another, the things we cannot bear to see. It’s a warm book, an intelligent one, richly observed, clear-eyed, and the generosity of its final pages moved me to tears.”—Rachel Joyce, author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Miss Benson’s Beetle

“[A] rich, sweeping tale.” —Woman’s World

"Perfect for fans of Helen Simonson and Julia Kelly, this is beautiful, profoundly emotional, and peppered with sparks of humor.” —Booklist

“Introspective…Liardet’s complex narrative entices with its focus on how the characters are forever altered by the war and the tragic events of everyday life. Liardet’s vivid descriptions of WWII combat and the idyll of the English countryside will draw readers from the very first page.” —Publishers Weekly

“[A] quiet quest for honesty and connection [that] offers emotional insight and a memorably humane vision.” —Kirkus Reviews

“The narrative, which explores how differently men and women process grief, unfolds slowly and thoughtfully, written in an easy flowing prose, flipping smoothly back and forth in time. . . An unusual and moving novel which has much to say about whether we truly know anyone.” —Historical Novels Review

Think of Me is a simply gorgeous, sophisticated novel that breaks your heart then mends it again. In this stunning masterpiece, Liardet's poignant prose celebrates the triumph of love over death and of faith over grief." —Stephanie Dray, author of The Women of Chateau Lafayette

“In this ravishing epic, Frances Liardet travels fluidly between continents, between times of war and peace, and between what we think we know about those closest to us and the secrets they keep, to deliver a love story that transcends time and even death. A sumptuous, deeply moving, and ultimately life-affirming tale!”—Patry Francis, author of All the Children Are Home

“Rich with historical detail, and heartbreaking and hopeful in equal measure, Think of Me is a luminous, compassionate exploration of grief and the tragic effects of loss and secrecy on a family's closest bonds.”—Rafe Posey, author of The Stars We Share