A ten-day suspension has tweens De'Kari and Ebony seeing the world with a fresh perspective. Don't miss this poignant novel in verse from the award-winning author of Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero.

Two kids. One fight. No one thinks they’re wrong.
 
Flow
I don’t even hit girls . . . is what I’m thinking.
I roll my eyes, turn them to my shoes.
 
Shoes I’ma wear every day till they fall off my feet.
 
Eb
It was all just an accident!
Nobody was trying to mess up
his Stupid Ugly Shoes.
 
Now I’ve got my third suspension of seventh grade.
 
Ebony and De’Kari (aka Flow) do not get along. How could they when their cafeteria scuffle ended with De'Kari's ruined shoes, Ebony on the ground, and both of them with ten days of at-home suspension? Now Eb and Flow have two weeks to think about and explain their behavior—to their families, to each other, and ultimately to themselves.
 
Award-winning author Kelly J. Baptist delivers a novel in verse that follows Eb and Flow as they navigate their parallel lives. Single-parent homes, tight funds, and sibling dynamics provide a balancing act for the growing tweens. And whether they realize it or not, these two have a lot more in common than they think.
Praise for Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero:
A Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year!

“An inventive and heartfelt debut novel.”  —The New York Times

"An uplifting, affirming story for every collection.” —Booklist, starred review

"Isaiah’s optimism, drive, and loyalty to friends and family make him a hero to cheer for and lend a feeling of hope to this exploration of difficult topics." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

Praise for The Swag Is in the Socks:
"An excellent read-alike to Jacqueline Woodson’s Harbor Me or Janae Marks’ From the Desk of Zoe Washington.”–Booklist, Starred Review

"A warm but authentic picture of a middle schooler figuring out who he is and who he wants to be." –The Bulletin