65 results   page 1 of 6   >
view sort by
Art
What the Ermine Saw Cover
Author: Eden Collinsworth |
Release Date: May 10, 2022
In the tradition of The Lady in Gold and The Hare with the Amber Eyes, the remarkable story behind one of history’s most enigmatic portraits.Five hundred and thirty years ago, a young woman sat before a Grecian-nosed artist known as Leonardo da...
What the Ermine Saw Cover
Keith Haring Journals Cover
Author: Keith Haring |
Release Date: February 15, 2022
Keith Haring is synonymous with the downtown New York art scene of the 1980's. His artwork-with its simple, bold lines and dynamic figures in motion-filtered in to the world's consciousness and is still instantly recognizable, twenty years after his ...
Keith Haring Journals Cover
Author: Jed Perl | Narrator: Daniel Oreskes
Release Date: January 11, 2022
From one of our most widely admired art critics comes a bold and timely manifesto reaffirming the independence of all the arts—musical, literary, and visual—and their unique and unparalleled power to excite, disturb, and inspire us.As peo...
Author: Alex Danchev | Narrator: Simon Vance
Release Date: November 30, 2021
The first major biography of the pathbreaking, perpetually influential surrealist artist and iconoclast whose inspiration can be seen in everyone from Jasper Johns to Beyoncé—by the celebrated biographer of Cézanne and BraqueIn th...
Author: Catherine Mccormack | Narrator: Patty Nieman
Release Date: November 16, 2021
Art historian Catherine McCormack challenges how culture teaches us to see and value women, their bodies, and their lives.Venus, maiden, wife, mother, monster—women have been bound so long by these restrictive roles, codified by patriarchal cu...
Author: Rax King | Narrator: Rax King
Release Date: November 02, 2021
An irreverent and charming collection of deeply personal essays about the joys of low pop culture and bad taste, exploring coming of age in the 2000s in the age of Hot Topic, Creed, and frosted lip gloss—from the James Beard Award-n...
Author: Steven Naifeh | Narrator: Fajer Al-Kaisi
Release Date: November 02, 2021
The compelling story of how Vincent van Gogh developed his audacious, iconic style by immersing himself in the work of others, featuring paintings by Van Gogh as well as the artists who inspired him—from the New York Times bestselling co-author...
Author: Adam J. Kurtz | Narrator: Adam J. Kurtz
Release Date: October 19, 2021
An honest and relatable guide to figuring out where you’re headed—and feeling okay in the meantime.When life feels uncertain, or just plain out of control, making intentional choices can help us move forward and find our way. Sometimes al...
Author: Adam J. Kurtz | Narrator: Adam J. Kurtz and Grace Bonney
Release Date: September 28, 2021
Insights and inspiration for anyone who makes art (or anything else)The Ultimate BuzzFeed Books Gift Guide - Official SelectionFrom the creative mind and heart of designer Adam J. Kurtz comes this upbeat rallying cry for creators of all stripes. Expa...
Author: Maggie Nelson | Narrator: Gabra Zackman
Release Date: September 07, 2021
An expansive, exhilarating work of criticism by one of the most significant writers of our day.So often deployed as a jingoistic, even menacing rallying cry, or limited by a focus on passing moments of liberation, the rhetoric of freedom both rouses ...
Author: Charlie English | Narrator: Enn Reitel
Release Date: August 10, 2021
The untold story of Hitler’s war on “degenerate” artists and the mentally ill that served as a model for the “Final Solution.” “A penetrating chronicle . . . deftly links art history, psychiatry, and Hitler&rs...
Author: George W. Bush | Narrator: George W. Bush
Release Date: April 20, 2021
In this powerful new collection of oil paintings and stories, President George W. Bush spotlights the inspiring journeys of America’s immigrants and the contributions they make to the life and prosperity of our nation. The issue of immigra...