39 results   page 1 of 4   >
view sort by
Fiction - African American - General
cover_9780593166970
Author: James McBride
Release Date: March 03, 2020
From James McBride, author of the National Book Award-winning The Good Lord Bird, comes a wise and witty novel about what happens to the witnesses of a shooting.In September 1969, a fumbling, cranky old church deacon known as Sportcoat shuffles into ...
cover_9780593166970
cover_9780593166765
Author: Brandon Taylor
Release Date: February 18, 2020
A novel of startling intimacy, violence, and mercy among friends in a Midwestern university town, from an electric new voice. A novel of rare emotional power that excavates the social intricacies of a late-summer weekend--and a lifetime of buried pai...
cover_9780593166765
Author: Mathea Morais | Narrator: Brandon Johnson
Release Date: October 22, 2019
Octavian Munroe is haunted by the life and death of his older brother in one of the most racially segregated cities in the country. Mina Rose has never quite fit in and wishes she was anything but white. Once lovers, now estranged, they both left St....
Author: Jacqueline Woodson | Narrator: Jacqueline Woodson and Various
Release Date: September 17, 2019
Named one of the Most Anticipated Books of 2019 by LitHub and The Millions.Called one of the Top 10 Literary Fiction titles of Fall by Publishers Weekly.An extraordinary new novel about the influence of history on a contemporary family, from the ...
Author: William Melvin Kelley | Narrator: Jay Smooth
Release Date: August 27, 2019
The stunning, thought-provoking first novel by a "lost giant of American literature" (The New Yorker)June, 1957. One hot afternoon in the backwaters of the Deep South, a young black farmer named Tucker Caliban salts his fields, shoots his horse, burn...
Author: Colson Whitehead | Narrator: Colson Whitehead and JD Jackson
Release Date: July 16, 2019
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERIn this bravura follow-up to the Pulitzer Prize, and National Book Award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the st...
Author: Regina Porter | Narrator: Bahni Turpin and Dominic Hoffman
Release Date: June 18, 2019
“American history comes to vivid, engaging life in this tale of two interconnected families (one white, one black) that spans from the 1950s to Barack Obama’s first year as president. . . . The complex, beautifully drawn characters are un...
Author: Eric Jerome Dickey | Narrator: Dion Graham
Release Date: April 16, 2019
New York Times bestselling author Eric Jerome Dickey reveals how one chance meeting can change everything in this engrossing, sexy tale of star-crossed lust.They say the love of money is the root of all evil, but for Ken Swift, it's the love of a wom...
Author: Bryan Washington | Narrator: Bahni Turpin, Dion Graham, Bryan Washington and JD Jackson
Release Date: March 19, 2019
"Phenomenal" --Justin Torres, author of We the Animals"Brilliant" --Nicole Dennis-Benn, author of Here Comes the Sun“A profound exploration of the true meaning of borders.” —The New York Times Book Review In the city of Houston...
Author: Anissa Gray | Narrator: Bahni Turpin, Dominic Hoffman, Adenrele Ojo and January LaVoy
Release Date: February 19, 2019
“If you enjoyed An American Marriage by Tayari Jones, read The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls...an absorbing commentary on love, family and forgiveness.”—The Washington Post  “A fast-paced, intriguing st...
Author: Maurice Carlos Ruffin | Narrator: Dion Graham
Release Date: January 29, 2019
“An incisive and necessary” (Roxane Gay) debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty’s The Sellout, about a father’s obsessive quest to protect his son—even if it means turning him white Longlisted for the Center for Ficti...
Author: Eric Jerome Dickey | Narrator: Dion Graham
Release Date: April 17, 2018
Affairs of the heart can be lethal in this sensual, thrilling novel from New York Times bestselling author Eric Jerome Dickey.As a low-level enforcer in Los Angeles, Ken Swift knows danger, but nowhere does he feel it more than in his tangled ro...