116 results   page 1 of 10   >
view sort by
Fiction - Cultural Heritage
cover_9780735208889
Author: Xander Miller
Release Date: August 11, 2020
A riveting, gorgeously written debut novel—a contemporary Romeo and Juliet saga with great emotional power, set in Haiti during the 2010 earthquake and its aftermath.  His name is Zwazo Delalun, but everyone calls him Zo. Growing up an or...
cover_9780735208889
cover_9780593214510
Author: Saumya Dave
Release Date: July 14, 2020
“A sparkling debut.”—Emily Giffin, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author From a compelling new voice in women's fiction comes a mother-daughter story about three generations of women who struggle to define themselves as they pur...
cover_9780593214510
cover_9780593169254
Author: Stephanie Scott | Narrator: Janet Song and Emily Woo Zeller
Release Date: June 23, 2020
A gripping debut set in modern-day Tokyo and inspired by a true crime, for readers of Everything I Never Told You and The Perfect Nanny, What's Left of Me Is Yours charts a young woman's search for the truth about her mother's life--and her murder.In...
cover_9780593169254
cover_9780593209943
Author: Imbolo Mbue
Release Date: June 16, 2020
From the celebrated author of the New York Times bestseller Behold the Dreamers comes a sweeping, wrenching story about the collision of a small African village and an American oil company. “A novel with the richness an...
cover_9780593209943
cover_9780593214695
Author: Chanel Cleeton
Release Date: June 16, 2020
In 1935 three women are forever changed when one of the most powerful hurricanes in history barrels toward the Florida Keys.   For the tourists traveling on Henry Flagler’s legendary Overseas Railroad, Labor Day weekend is an opportunity t...
cover_9780593214695
cover_9780593295281
Author: Laila Lalami
Release Date: May 19, 2020
Hope and Other Dangerous Pursuits evokes the grit and enduring grace that is modern Morocco.As four Moroccans illegally cross the Strait of Gibraltar in an inflatable boat headed for Spain, author Laila Lalami asks, What has driven them to risk their...
cover_9780593295281
cover_9780593295304
Author: Laila Lalami
Release Date: May 19, 2020
When a young man is given the chance to rewrite his future, he doesn't realize the price he will pay for giving up his past...Casablanca's stinking alleys are the only home that nineteen-year-old Youssef El-Mekki has ever known. Raised by his mother ...
cover_9780593295304
cover_9780593169599
Author: Francesca Momplaisir | Narrator: Dion Graham, Karen Chilton and Janina Edwards
Release Date: May 12, 2020
"A shockingly original exploration of class, race, and systemic violence . . . This house, tainted by the human evil it contains, is reminiscent of the opening line of Toni Morrison's Beloved. And, like Morrison, Momplaisir uses the tropes of fantasy...
cover_9780593169599
cover_9780593166932
Author: Ishmael Beah | Narrator: Dion Graham
Release Date: April 28, 2020
From the #1 New York Times-bestselling author of A Long Way Gone.A powerful novel about young people living at the margins of society, struggling to replace the homes they have lost with the one they have created together. Hidden away from a harsh ou...
cover_9780593166932
Author: Teju Cole | Narrator: Peter Jay Fernandez
Release Date: April 28, 2020
NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY DWIGHT GARNER, THE NEW YORK TIMES • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY San Francisco Chronicle | NPR | The Root | The Telegraph | The Globe and MailNATIONAL BESTSELLER &b...
Author: Sonya Lalli | Narrator: Soneela Nankani
Release Date: March 24, 2020
A delightfully modern look at what happens for a young woman when tradition, dating, and independence collide, from acclaimed author Sonya Lalli. Adulting shouldn't be this hard. Especially in your thirties. Having been pressured by her tight-knit co...
Author: Yiyun Li | Narrator: Cindy Kay
Release Date: February 18, 2020
Brilliant and original, A Thousand Years of Good Prayers introduces a remarkable new writer whose breathtaking stories are set in China and among Chinese Americans in the United States. In this rich, astonishing collection, Yiyun Li illuminates how m...