28 results   page 1 of 3   >
view sort by
History - Civilization
The Power of Strangers Cover
Author: Joe Keohane
Release Date: July 13, 2021
An entertaining, surprising, and ultimately inspiring look at what happens when we talk to strangers, and why it affects everything from our own health and well-being to the rise and fall of nations, in the tradition of Susan Cain’s Quiet and Y...
The Power of Strangers Cover
The History Makers Cover
Author: Richard Cohen | Narrator: Richard Cohen
Release Date: June 15, 2021
An epic exploration of who writes about the past and how the biases of certain storytellers—from Julius Caesar to William Shakespeare to Simon Schama—continue to influence our ideas about history (and about who we are) today   There ...
The History Makers Cover
Beyond Cover
Author: Catherine Wolff
Release Date: May 25, 2021
A smart and thought-provoking cultural history of heaven.What do we think of when we think about heaven? What might it look like? Who or what might be there?Since humans began to huddle together for protection thousands of years ago, these questions ...
Beyond Cover
The Silk Roads Cover
Author: Peter Frankopan | Narrator: Laurence Kennedy
Release Date: March 30, 2021
“This is history on a grand scale, with a sweep and ambition that is rare… A proper historical epic of dazzling range and achievement.” —William Dalrymple, The Guardian   The epic history of the crossroads...
The Silk Roads Cover
Author: James Suzman | Narrator: Nicholas Guy Smith
Release Date: January 19, 2021
"This book is a tour de force." -- Adam Grant, New York Times bestselling author of Give and TakeA revolutionary new history of humankind through the prism of work by leading anthropologist James SuzmanWork defines who we are. It determines our statu...
Author: Ben Wilson | Narrator: John Sackville
Release Date: November 10, 2020
From a brilliant young historian, a colorful journey through 7,000 years and twenty-six world cities that shows how urban living has been the spur and incubator to humankind's greatest innovations.In the two hundred millennia of our existence, nothin...
Author: Jo Marchant | Narrator: Jo Marchant
Release Date: September 01, 2020
"A tour de force on par with Sapiens by Yuval Noah Harari"—Booklist (starred review)"One to savor"—Publishers Weekly (starred review)An historically unprecedented disconnect between humanity and the heavens has opened. Jo Marchant's ...
Author: Cody Cassidy | Narrator: Dennis Boutsikaris
Release Date: May 05, 2020
Who wore the first pants? Who painted the first masterpiece? Who first rode the horse? Who invented soap? This madcap adventure across ancient history uses everything from modern genetics to archaeology to uncover the geniuses behind these and other ...
Author: Monica L. Smith | Narrator: Monica L. Smith
Release Date: April 16, 2019
"A revelation of the drive and creative flux of the metropolis over time."--Nature"This is a must-read book for any city dweller with a voracious appetite for understanding the wonders of cities and why we're so attracted to them."--Zahi Hawass, auth...
Author: Yuval Noah Harari | Narrator: Derek Perkins
Release Date: September 04, 2018
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In Sapiens, he explored our past. In Homo Deus, he looked to our future. Now, one of the most innovative thinkers on the planet turns to the present to make sense of today’s most pressing issues.“F...
Author: Ingrid Rossellini | Narrator: January LaVoy
Release Date: May 22, 2018
A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2018A lively and timely introduction to the roots of self-understanding--who we are and how we should act--in the cultures of ancient Greece, the Roman Empire, and Middle Ages and the Renaissance     ...
Author: John Lewis Gaddis | Narrator: Mike Chamberlain
Release Date: April 03, 2018
A master class in strategic thinking, distilled from the legendary program the author has co-taught at Yale for decadesFor almost two decades, Yale students have competed for admission each year to the "Studies in Grand Strategy" seminar taught by Jo...