24 results   page 1 of 2   >
view sort by
History - Holocaust
cover_9780593343111
Author: Helen Epstein | Narrator: Nan McNamara
Release Date: August 04, 2020
"I set out to find a group of people who, like me, were possessed by a history they had never lived."The daughter of Holocaust survivors, Helen Epstein traveled from America to Europe to Israel, searching for one vital thin in common: their parent's ...
cover_9780593343111
Author: Esther Safran Foer | Narrator: Ellen Archer and Esther Safran Foer
Release Date: March 31, 2020
“A beautiful exploration of collective memory and Jewish history.”—Nathan Englander“Esther Safran Foer is a force of nature: a leader of the Jewish people, the matriarch of America’s leading literary family, an eloquent ...
Author: Franci Rabinek Epstein | Narrator: Suzanne Toren and Helen Epstein
Release Date: March 17, 2020
The engrossing memoir of a spirited and glamorous young fashion designer who survived World War ll, with an afterword by her daughter, Helen Epstein.In the summer of 1942, twenty-two year-old Franci Rabinek--designated a Jew by the Nazi racial laws--...
Author: Catherine Bailey | Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Release Date: October 29, 2019
"I was gripped by A Castle in Wartime--it contained more tension, more plot in fact--than any thriller."--Kate Atkinson, author of Big Sky and Case HistoriesAn enthralling story of one family's extraordinary courage and resistance amidst the horrors ...
Author: Maggie Paxson | Narrator: Maggie Paxson
Release Date: August 13, 2019
During World War II, French villagers offered safe harbor to countless strangers - mostly children - as they fled for their lives. The same place offers refuge to migrants today. Why? In a remote pocket of Nazi-held France, ordinary people risked the...
Author: Michael Dobbs | Narrator: Mark Deakins
Release Date: April 02, 2019
Published in association with the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, a riveting story of Jewish families seeking to escape Nazi Germany.In 1938, on the eve of World War II, the American journalist Dorothy Thompson wrote that "a piece of paper w...
Author: Gudrun Pausewang | Narrator: Suzanne Toren
Release Date: December 04, 2018
Alice is eleven years old, and it is wartime. She is on a train with no seats, no lights, no sanitary facilities. Her parents and her grandmother are missing, and Alice doesn't know where she is going. Maybe she will get to play outside again, maybe ...
Author: Bart van Es | Narrator: Bart van Es
Release Date: August 14, 2018
COSTA BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD WINNER“The hidden gem of the year . . . Sensational and gripping, and shedding light on some of the most urgent issues of our time, this was our unanimous winner.” —Judges of the 2018 Costa AwardThe extr...
Author: Rebecca Erbelding | Narrator: Hillary Huber
Release Date: April 10, 2018
WINNER OF THE NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARDFor more than a decade, a harsh Congressional immigration policy kept most Jewish refugees out of America, even as Hitler and the Nazis closed in. In 1944, the United States finally acted. That year, Franklin D...
Author: John Heminway | Narrator: John Heminway
Release Date: February 13, 2018
As a member of the renowned Flying Doctors Service, Dr. Anne Spoerry treated hundreds of thousands of people across rural Kenya over the span of fifty years, earning herself the cherished nickname “Mama Daktari”—“Mother Doctor...
Author: Henning Koch and Anders Rydell | Narrator: Kaleo Griffith
Release Date: February 07, 2017
"A most valuable book." —Christian Science MonitorFor readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return t...
cover_9781524708849
Author: Erik Larson | Narrator: Stephen Hoye
Release Date: October 25, 2016
“Larson is a marvelous writer...superb at creating characters with a few short strokes.”—New York Times Book Review  Erik Larson has been widely acclaimed as a master of narrative non-fiction, and in his new book, the best...
cover_9781524708849