27 results <   page 2 of 3   >
view sort by
History - Modern - 20th Century - Holocaust
Author: John Heminway | Narrator: John Heminway
Release Date: February 13, 2018
As a member of the renowned Flying Doctors Service, Dr. Anne Spoerry treated hundreds of thousands of people across rural Kenya over the span of fifty years, earning herself the cherished nickname “Mama Daktari”—“Mother Doctor...
Author: Anders Rydell | Narrator: Kaleo Griffith
Release Date: February 07, 2017
"A most valuable book." —Christian Science MonitorFor readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return t...
Author: Tim Tate and Ingrid von Oelhafen | Narrator: Davina Porter
Release Date: February 02, 2016
Hitler’s Forgotten Children is both a harrowing personal memoir and a devastating investigation into the awful crimes and monstrous scope of the Lebensborn program in World War 2.Created by Heinrich Himmler, the Lebensborn program abducted as m...
Author: Mark Riebling | Narrator: Fred Sanders
Release Date: September 29, 2015
The Vatican’s silence in the face of Nazi atrocities remains one of the great controversies of our time. History has accused wartime pontiff Pius the Twelfth of complicity in the Holocaust and dubbed him “Hitler’s Pope.” But a...
Author: Timothy Snyder | Narrator: Mark Bramhall
Release Date: September 08, 2015
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “[Timothy] Snyder identifies the conditions that allowed the Holocaust—conditions our society today shares. . . . He certainly couldn’t be more right about our world.”—The New R...
Author: Nicholas Kulish and Souad Mekhennet | Narrator: Paul Boehmer
Release Date: March 25, 2014
From the New York Times reporters who first uncovered S.S. officer Aribert Heim’s secret life in Egypt comes the never-before-told story of the most hunted Nazi war criminal in the world.Dr. Aribert Heim worked at the Mauthausen concentration c...
Author: Caroline Stoessinger | Narrator: Linda Korn
Release Date: March 20, 2012
The subject of the Academy Award–winning documentary The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life, Alice Herz-Sommer was the world’s oldest Holocaust survivor when she died on February 23, 2014. A Century of Wisdom is the true story of her l...
Author: David King | Narrator: Paul Michael
Release Date: September 20, 2011
The gripping, true story of a brutal serial killer who unleashed his own reign of terror in Nazi-Occupied Paris. As decapitated heads and dismembered body parts surfaced in the Seine, Commissaire Georges-Victor Massu, head of the Brigade Criminelle, ...
Author: Erik Larson | Narrator: Stephen Hoye
Release Date: May 10, 2011
“Larson is a marvelous writer...superb at creating characters with a few short strokes.”—New York Times Book Review  Erik Larson has been widely acclaimed as a master of narrative non-fiction, and in his new book, the best...
Author: Tom Segev | Narrator: Marc Cashman
Release Date: September 07, 2010
This first fully documented biography of Simon Wiesenthal, the legendary Nazi hunter, is also a brilliant character study of a man whose life was part invention but wholly dedicated to ensuring both that the Nazis be held responsible for their crimes...
Author: Anne Frank | Narrator: Selma Blair
Release Date: May 25, 2010
THE DEFINITIVE EDITION • Discovered in the attic in which she spent the last years of her life, Anne Frank’s remarkable diary has since become a world classic—a powerful reminder of the horrors of war and an eloquent testament to the...
Author: Guy Walters | Narrator: Jonathan Cowley
Release Date: May 04, 2010
Already acclaimed in England as "first-rate" (The Sunday Times); “a model of meticulous, courageous and path-breaking scholarship"(Literary Review); and "absorbing and thoroughly gripping… deserves a lasting place among histories of the ...