74 results   page 1 of 7   >
view sort by
History - Social History
A Good Country Cover
Author: Sofia Ali-Khan |
Release Date: July 05, 2022
A leading advocate for social justice excavates the history of forced migration in the twelve American towns she’s called home, revealing how White supremacy has fundamentally shaped the nation.Sofia Ali-Khan’s parents emigrated...
A Good Country Cover
The Watermen Cover
Author: Michael Loynd |
Release Date: June 07, 2022
The feel-good underdog story of the first American swimmer to win Olympic gold, set against the turbulent rebirth of the modern Games—for fans of The Boys in the Boat and SeabiscuitIn the early twentieth century, few Americans knew how to ...
The Watermen Cover
What the Ermine Saw Cover
Author: Eden Collinsworth |
Release Date: May 10, 2022
In the tradition of The Lady in Gold and The Hare with the Amber Eyes, the remarkable story behind one of history’s most enigmatic portraits.Five hundred and thirty years ago, a young woman sat before a Grecian-nosed artist known as Leonardo da...
What the Ermine Saw Cover
Author: Ramachandra Guha | Narrator: Vidish Athavale
Release Date: February 22, 2022
An extraordinary history of resistance and the fight for Indian independence—the little-known story of seven foreigners to India who joined the movement fighting for freedom from British colonial rule.Rebels Against the Raj tells the story of s...
Author: Gal Beckerman | Narrator: Feodor Chin
Release Date: February 15, 2022
A provocative, incisive look at the building of social movements—from the 1600s to the present—and how current technology is undermining them “A bravura work of scholarship and reporting, featuring amazing individuals and dramatic e...
Author: Anne F. Hyde | Narrator: Tanis Parenteau
Release Date: February 15, 2022
A fresh history of the West grounded in the lives of mixed-descent Native families who first bridged and then collided with racial boundaries.Often overlooked, there is mixed blood at the heart of America. And at the heart of Native life for centurie...
The Urge Cover
Author: Carl Erik Fisher | Narrator: Mark Deakins
Release Date: January 25, 2022
An authoritative, illuminating, and deeply humane history of addiction—a phenomenon that remains baffling and deeply misunderstood despite having touched countless lives—by an addiction psychiatrist striving to understand his own family a...
The Urge Cover
Worn Cover
Author: Sofi Thanhauser | Narrator: Rebecca Lowman
Release Date: January 25, 2022
A sweeping and captivatingly told history of clothing and the stuff it is made of—an unparalleled deep-dive into how everyday garments have transformed our lives, our societies, and our planet “A masterpiece . . . panoramic and richly pa...
Worn Cover
Author: Catherine Mccormack | Narrator: Patty Nieman
Release Date: November 16, 2021
Art historian Catherine McCormack challenges how culture teaches us to see and value women, their bodies, and their lives.Venus, maiden, wife, mother, monster—women have been bound so long by these restrictive roles, codified by patriarchal cu...
Author: Neil Lanctot | Narrator: Adam Barr
Release Date: October 26, 2021
The fascinating story of how the three most influential American progressives of the early twentieth century split over America’s response to World War I. In the early years of the twentieth century, the most famous Americans on the natio...
Author: Jude Stewart | Narrator: Gabra Zackman
Release Date: October 26, 2021
An extraordinary, strange, and startlingly beautiful exploration of smell, the least understood of our five senses The nose on your face is the Buckingham Palace Guard of your body, the matre d' of all taste, as well as the seducer of your imagi...
Author: Giulio Boccaletti | Narrator: Giulio Boccaletti
Release Date: September 14, 2021
Spanning millennia and continents, here is a stunningly revealing history of how the distribution of water has shaped human civilization. Boccaletti, of The Nature Conservancy, “tackles the most important story of our time: our relationship wit...