48 results   page 1 of 4   >
view sort by
Juvenile Nonfiction - People & Places - United States - African American & Black
Who Is Shaquille O'Neal? Cover
Author: Ellen Labrecque and Who HQ |
Release Date: October 04, 2022
NBA champion, sports analyst, and successful businessman Shaquille O'Neal is a lively and entertaining addition to the #1 New York Times Bestselling Series!Shaquille O'Neal discovered his love of basketball while spending time in an afterschool progr...
$14
ISBN: 9780593610671
Unabridged Download
Who Is Shaquille O'Neal? Cover
Who Is Stacey Abrams? Cover
Author: Who HQ and Shelia P. Moses |
Release Date: September 13, 2022
Discover how a young girl who loved to read and write became a voting rights activist, a candidate for governor of Georgia, and an author in this exciting addition to the Who HQ Now series that features newsmakers and trending topics.Stacey Abra...
$11
ISBN: 9780593610695
Unabridged Download
Who Is Stacey Abrams? Cover
She Persisted: Marian Anderson Cover
Author: Chelsea Clinton and Katheryn Russell-Brown | Narrator: Gina Daniels
Release Date: June 07, 2022
Inspired by the #1 New York Times bestseller She Persisted by Chelsea Clinton and Alexandra Boiger comes a chapter book series, adapted for audio, about women who spoke up and rose up against the odds--including Marian Anderson!When renowned classica...
She Persisted: Marian Anderson Cover
Author: Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich | Narrator: Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich
Release Date: May 24, 2022
Tip your hat to fashion designer and civil rights icon Mae Reeves in this picture book biography written in collaboration with the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture!Mae had a dream to make one-of-a-kind hats. But the...
Author: Kate Messner and Gwendolyn Hooks | Narrator: Reginald James
Release Date: May 17, 2022
Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth about the Underground Railroad and Black Americans' struggle for freedom. Perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.Before the Civil War, there was a crack team of abolitionists w...
Author: Sharon Dennis Wyeth | Narrator: Sharon Dennis Wyeth
Release Date: May 10, 2022
Some call it Freedom Day; some call it Emancipation Day; some call it Juneteenth. Learn more about this important holiday that celebrates the end of chattel slavery in the United States in this Step 3 History Reader.On June 19, 1865, two years after ...
Author: Who HQ and Lakita Wilson | Narrator: Cary Hite
Release Date: May 03, 2022
Learn about the inspiring life and career of professional football player and activist Colin Kaepernick in the new Who HQ Now format featuring newsmakers and trending topics.On August 14, 2016, NFL quarterback Colin Kaepernick began a prote...
Author: Who HQ and Kirsti Jewel | Narrator: Adenrele Ojo
Release Date: April 05, 2022
Discover more about Juneteenth, the important holiday that celebrates the end of chattel slavery in the United States.On June 19, 1865, a group of enslaved men, women, and children in Texas gathered around a Union solder and listened as he read the m...
The American boxing champ and vocal civil rights activist Muhammad Ali is the 27th hero in the New York Times bestselling picture book biography series for ages 5 to 8, adapted for audio.Muhammad Ali was the leading heavyweight boxer of the 20th cent...
Author: Tracey Baptiste | Narrator: Joniece Abbott-Pratt
Release Date: February 01, 2022
From NYT bestselling author Tracey Baptiste comes a singular picture book, adapted for audio, that is both a biography about Claudette Colvin, the teen whose activism launched the Montgomery bus boycott, and a celebration of collective action.When fi...
Author: Ibi Zoboi | Narrator: Robin Miles and Ibi Zoboi
Release Date: January 25, 2022
From the New York Times bestselling author and National Book Award finalist, a biography in verse and prose of science fiction visionary Octavia Butler.Acclaimed novelist Ibi Zoboi illuminates the young life of the visionary storyteller Octavia E. Bu...
Author: Mara Rockliff | Narrator: Rosa Howard
Release Date: January 11, 2022
An inspiring biography about the woman whose cooking helped feed and fund the Montgomery bus boycott of 1956.Georgia Gilmore was cooking when she heard the news Mrs. Rosa Parks had been arrested--pulled off a city bus and thrown in jail all because s...