46 results   page 1 of 4   >
view sort by
Juvenile Nonfiction - People & Places - United States - African American & Black
She Persisted: Marian Anderson Cover
Author: Chelsea Clinton and Katheryn Russell-Brown |
Release Date: June 07, 2022
Inspired by the #1 New York Times bestseller She Persisted by Chelsea Clinton and Alexandra Boiger comes a chapter book series about women who spoke up and rose up against the odds--including Marian Anderson!When renowned classical singer Marian Ande...
She Persisted: Marian Anderson Cover
Mae Makes a Way Cover
Author: Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich |
Release Date: May 24, 2022
Tip your hat to fashion designer and civil rights icon Mae Reeves in this picture book biography written in collaboration with the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture!Mae had a dream to make one-of-a-kind hats. But the...
Mae Makes a Way Cover
History Smashers: The Underground Railroad Cover
Author: Kate Messner and Gwendolyn Hooks |
Release Date: May 17, 2022
Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth about the Underground Railroad and Black Americans' struggle for freedom. Perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.Before the Civil War, there was a crack team of abolitionists w...
History Smashers: The Underground Railroad Cover
Juneteenth: Our Day of Freedom Cover
Author: Sharon Dennis Wyeth |
Release Date: May 10, 2022
Some call it Freedom Day; some call it Emancipation Day; some call it Juneteenth. Learn more about this important holiday that celebrates the end of chattel slavery in the United States in this Step 3 History Reader.On June 19, 1865, two years after ...
Juneteenth: Our Day of Freedom Cover
Who Is Colin Kaepernick? Cover
Author: Who HQ and Lakita Wilson |
Release Date: May 03, 2022
Learn about the inspiring life and career of professional football player and activist Colin Kaepernick in the new Who HQ Now format featuring newsmakers and trending topics.On August 14, 2016, NFL quarterback Colin Kaepernick began a prote...
Who Is Colin Kaepernick? Cover
What Is Juneteenth? Cover
Author: Who HQ and Kirsti Jewel |
Release Date: April 05, 2022
Discover more about Juneteenth, the important holiday that celebrates the end of chattel slavery in the United States. On June 19, 1865, a group of enslaved men, women, and children in Texas gathered around a Union solder and listened as he read the ...
What Is Juneteenth? Cover
The American boxing champ and vocal civil rights activist Muhammad Ali is the 27th hero in the New York Times bestselling picture book biography series for ages 5 to 8, adapted for audio.Muhammad Ali was the leading heavyweight boxer of the 20th cent...
Author: Tracey Baptiste | Narrator: Joniece Abbott-Pratt
Release Date: February 01, 2022
From NYT bestselling author Tracey Baptiste comes a singular picture book, adapted for audio, that is both a biography about Claudette Colvin, the teen whose activism launched the Montgomery bus boycott, and a celebration of collective action.When fi...
Author: Ibi Zoboi | Narrator: Robin Miles and Ibi Zoboi
Release Date: January 25, 2022
From the New York Times bestselling author and National Book Award finalist, a biography in verse and prose of science fiction visionary Octavia Butler.Acclaimed novelist Ibi Zoboi illuminates the young life of the visionary storyteller Octavia E. Bu...
Author: Mara Rockliff | Narrator: Rosa Howard
Release Date: January 11, 2022
An inspiring biography about the woman whose cooking helped feed and fund the Montgomery bus boycott of 1956.Georgia Gilmore was cooking when she heard the news Mrs. Rosa Parks had been arrested--pulled off a city bus and thrown in jail all because s...
Author: Kelly Starling Lyons and Chelsea Clinton | Narrator: Karen Murray and Chelsea Clinton
Release Date: January 04, 2022
Inspired by the #1 New York Times bestseller She Persisted by Chelsea Clinton and Alexandra Boiger comes a chapter book series about women who spoke up and rose up against the odds--including Coretta Scott King!In this chapter book biography by award...
Author: Sherri L. Smith and Who HQ | Narrator: Tashi Thomas
Release Date: December 28, 2021
In this audiobook from the #1 New York Times bestselling series, learn how this vibrant Black neighborhood in upper Manhattan became home to the leading Black writers, artists, and musicians of the 1920s and 1930s.Travel back in time to the 1920s and...