16 results   page 1 of 2   >
view sort by
Juvenile Nonfiction - History - United States - 20th Century
cover_9780525629498
Author: Kate Boehm Jerome | Narrator: Kevin Pariseau
Release Date: March 26, 2019
Amelia Earhart was a woman of many "firsts." In 1932, she became the first woman to fly solo across the Atlantic Ocean. In 1935, she also became the first woman to fly across the Pacific. From her early years to her mysterious 1937 disappearance while attempting a flight around the world, readers will find Amelia Earhart's life a fascinating story.
cover_9780525629498
cover_9780525628897
Author: Veronica Lawlor | Narrator: Various, Victor Bevine, Catherine Byers and Wendy Bagger
Release Date: February 19, 2019
In their own words, immigrants recall their arrival in the United States. Includes brief biographies and facts about the Ellis Island Oral History Project.
cover_9780525628897
cover_9781984883773
Author: Brad Meltzer
Release Date: February 05, 2019
We can all be heroes. That’s the inspiring message of this New York Times Bestselling picture book biography series from historian and author Brad Meltzer.
 
Even as a child, Martin Luther King, Jr. was shocked by the terrible and unfair way African-American people were treated.
cover_9781984883773
cover_9780525636748
Author: Sherri L. Smith and Who HQ | Narrator: Larry Herron
Release Date: August 07, 2018
It's up, up, and away with the Tuskegee Airmen, a heroic group of African American military pilots who helped the United States win World War II.

During World War II, black Americans were fighting for their country and for freedom in Europe, yet they had to endure a totally segregated military in the United States, where they weren't considered smart enough to become military pilots.
cover_9780525636748
cover_9780525625810
Author: Joan Holub | Narrator: Dan Woren
Release Date: May 22, 2018
Building the most magical place on earth was no fairy tale. Learn the story behind the creation of Walt Disney World.

In 1964, when Walt Disney and his brother Roy decided to build a second theme park in the Florida swamplands, they kept it super hush-hush.
cover_9780525625810
cover_9780525529187
Author: Kenneth C. Davis | Narrator: Adenrele Ojo and MacLeod Andrews
Release Date: May 15, 2018
From bestselling author Kenneth C. Davis comes a fascinating account of the Spanish influenza pandemic 100 years after it first swept the world in 1918.

"Davis deftly juggles compelling storytelling, gruesome details, and historical context.
cover_9780525529187
cover_9780735205536
Author: Janet Pascal | Narrator: Arthur Morey
Release Date: June 07, 2016
It seems entirely fitting that Maurice Sendak was born on the same day that Mickey Mouse first made his cartoon debut--June 10, 1928. Sendak was crazy about cartoons and comic books, and at twelve, after seeing Disney's Fantasia, he decided that he was going to become an illustrator.
cover_9780735205536
cover_9780451484499
Author: Roberta Edwards | Narrator: Dominic Hoffman
Release Date: March 01, 2016
On July 20, 1969, Neil Armstrong stepped on the moon and, to an audience of over 450 million people, proclaimed his step a giant leap for mankind. This Eagle Scout built his own model planes as a little boy and then grew up to be a test pilot for experimental aircraft before becoming an astronaut.
cover_9780451484499
cover_9780451482464
Author: Janet Pascal | Narrator: Danny Campbell
Release Date: February 02, 2016
Ted Geisel loved to doodle from the time he was a kid. He had an offbeat, fun-loving personality. He often threw dinner parties where guests wore outrageous hats. And he donned quirky hats when thinking up ideas for books-like his classic The Cat in the Hat.
cover_9780451482464
cover_9780553552751
Author: Steve Sheinkin | Narrator: Ray Porter
Release Date: September 22, 2015
From Steve Sheinkin, the award-winning author of The Port Chicago 50 and Bomb comes a tense, exciting exploration of what the Times deemed "the greatest story of the century". how Daniel Ellsberg transformed from obscure government analyst into "the most dangerous man in America," and risked everything to expose the government's deceit.
cover_9780553552751
cover_9781101925867
Author: Daniel James Brown | Narrator: Mark Bramhall
Release Date: September 08, 2015
The #1 New York Times bestseller about the Greatest Generation freshly adapted for the next generation.
 
For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Great Depression comes the astonishing tale of nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true grit really meant.
cover_9781101925867
cover_9781101925638
Author: Ann Bausum | Narrator: Ann Bausum and Tim Federle
Release Date: May 05, 2015
That’s the Stonewall.
The Stonewall Inn.
Pay attention.
History walks through that door.

In 1969 being gay in the United States was a criminal offense. It meant living a closeted life or surviving on the fringes of society.
cover_9781101925638