35 results   page 1 of 3   >
view sort by
Juvenile Nonfiction - History - United States - 20th Century
Author: Kate Messner | Narrator: Angela Butler
Release Date: May 17, 2022
Myths! Lies! Secrets! Smash the stories behind famous moments in history and expose the hidden truth. Perfect for fans of I Survived and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.In 1920, Susan B. Anthony passed a law that gave voting rights to women in the Unit...
Author: Kate Messner | Narrator: James Malloch
Release Date: May 17, 2022
Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth behind the infamous Pearl Harbor attack with beloved educator/author Kate Messner. Perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.On December 7, 1941, the Japanese launched a completel...
Author: David Stabler and Who HQ | Narrator: Amanda Damron
Release Date: May 10, 2022
How did a peanut farmer from a small town in Georgia become the 39th President of the United States? Find out in this addition to the #1 New York Times best-selling Who Was? series!Everyone was rather surprised when small-town farmer Jimmy Carter fir...
Author: Tracey Baptiste | Narrator: Joniece Abbott-Pratt
Release Date: February 01, 2022
From NYT bestselling author Tracey Baptiste comes a singular picture book, adapted for audio, that is both a biography about Claudette Colvin, the teen whose activism launched the Montgomery bus boycott, and a celebration of collective action.When fi...
Author: Janet B. Pascal and Who HQ | Narrator: Therese Plummer
Release Date: January 18, 2022
On October 29, 1929, life in the United States took a turn for the worst. The stock market – the system that controls money in America – plunged to a record low. But this event was only the beginning of many bad years to come. By the earl...
Author: Mara Rockliff | Narrator: Rosa Howard
Release Date: January 11, 2022
An inspiring biography about the woman whose cooking helped feed and fund the Montgomery bus boycott of 1956.Georgia Gilmore was cooking when she heard the news Mrs. Rosa Parks had been arrested--pulled off a city bus and thrown in jail all because s...
Author: Sherri L. Smith and Who HQ | Narrator: Tashi Thomas
Release Date: December 28, 2021
In this audiobook from the #1 New York Times bestselling series, learn how this vibrant Black neighborhood in upper Manhattan became home to the leading Black writers, artists, and musicians of the 1920s and 1930s.Travel back in time to the 1920s and...
Author: James Buckley, Jr. and Who HQ | Narrator: Charley Flyte
Release Date: October 26, 2021
Learn how this heroic group of American Indian men created a secret, unbreakable code and helped the US win major battles during World War II in this new addition to the #1 New York Times bestselling series.By the time the United States joined the Se...
Author: Patricia Brennan Demuth and Who HQ | Narrator: Eric Sharp
Release Date: October 05, 2021
A terrifying attack! On December 7, 1941, Japanese war planes appeared out of nowhere to bomb the American base at Pearl Harbor in Hawaii. It was a highly secretive and devastating attack: four battleships sunk, more than two thousand servicemen died...
Author: Janet B. Pascal and Who HQ | Narrator: Lisa Flanagan
Release Date: October 05, 2021
At 800-feet long, the Hindenburg was the largest airship ever built--just slightly smaller than the Titanic! Also of a disastrous end, the zeppelin burst into flame as spectators watched it attempt to land in Lakehurst, New Jersey on May 6, 1937. In ...
Author: Dorothy Hoobler, Thomas Hoobler and Who HQ | Narrator: Akaina Ghosh
Release Date: October 05, 2021
In this addition to the What Was? series, kids will experience what it was like to be in San Francisco in 1906 when the ground buckled in a major, catastrophic earthquake.One early April morning in 1906, the people of San Francisco were jolted awake ...
Author: Stephanie Sabol and Who HQ | Narrator: Eric Sharp
Release Date: October 05, 2021
For more than 100 years, people have been captivated by the disastrous sinking of the Titanic that claimed over 1,500 lives. Now young readers can find out why the great ship went down and how it was discovered seventy-five years later.At 2:20 a.m. o...