8 results   page 1 of 1  
view sort by
Juvenile Nonfiction - History - United States - Civil War Period (1850-1877)
What Was Reconstruction? Cover
Author: Sherri L. Smith |
Release Date: December 27, 2022
Learn about a pivotal time in American history and its momentous effects on civil rights in America.Reconstruction -- the period after the Civil War -- was meant to give newly freed Black people the same rights as white people. And indeed there were ...
$14
ISBN: 9780593610572
Unabridged Download
What Was Reconstruction? Cover
Author: Kate Messner and Gwendolyn Hooks | Narrator: Reginald James
Release Date: May 17, 2022
Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth about the Underground Railroad and Black Americans' struggle for freedom. Perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.Before the Civil War, there was a crack team of abolitionists w...
Author: Steve Sheinkin | Narrator: Steve Sheinkin and Vikas Adam
Release Date: August 10, 2021
New York Times bestselling author and Newbery Honor recipient Steve Sheinkin gives young listeners the causes and curses that divided America into Union and Confederate nations in Two Miserable Presidents: The Amazing, Terrible, and To...
Author: Brad Meltzer | Narrator: Oliver Wyman and Various
Release Date: February 05, 2019
We can all be heroes. That’s the inspiring message of this lively biography series from New York Times bestselling author Brad Meltzer.   “Kids always search for heroes, so we might as well have a say in it,” Brad Meltzer reali...
Author: Yona Zeldis McDonough and Who HQ | Narrator: Deanna Hurst
Release Date: April 05, 2016
No one knows where the term Underground Railroad came from--there were no trains or tracks, only "conductors" who helped escaping slaves to freedom. Including real stories about "passengers" on the "Railroad," this audiobook chronicles slaves' close ...
Author: Dana Meachen Rau | Narrator: Susan Hanfield
Release Date: April 05, 2016
Born in Connecticut in 1811, Harriet Beecher Stowe was an abolitionist, author, and playwright. Slavery was a major industry in the American South, and Stowe worked with the Underground Railroad to help escaped slaves head north towards freedom. The ...
Author: Russell Freedman | Narrator: Robert Petkoff
Release Date: October 14, 2008
Abraham Lincoln stood out in a crowd as much for his wit and rollicking humor as for his height. Here is a warm, appealing biography of our Civil War president.Russell Freedman begins with a lively account of Abraham Lincoln’s boyhood, his car...
Secrets of a Civil War Submarine Cover
Author: Sally M. Walker | Narrator: J. R. Horne
Release Date: April 24, 2007
BONUS FEATURE: Enhanced CD featuring photos, maps, and illustrations from the book. For more than one hundred years, a submarine lay buried beneath the ocean floor near Charleston, South Carolina. This Civil War stealth weapon–the H. L. Hunle...
Secrets of a Civil War Submarine Cover