86 results   page 1 of 8   >
view sort by
Juvenile Fiction - People & Places - United States - African American & Black
The Witch's Apprentice Cover
Author: Zetta Elliott
Release Date: January 18, 2022
The dragons may be out of the bag, but Jaxon is ready to hatch some magic of his own in this third book in the critically acclaimed series.Ever since the baby dragons were returned to the magical realm, things have been off. The New York summer has b...
The Witch's Apprentice Cover
Show the World! Cover
Author: Angela Dalton
Release Date: January 18, 2022
A celebration of self-expression and the power of using your voice, centering Black children, and exploring the many things they can do, create, and say to make their mark.Look around! Can you see?The many spaces, places, and ways toshow the world al...
Show the World! Cover
When Winter Robeson Came Cover
Author: Brenda Woods
Release Date: January 11, 2022
The whole world seems to transform during the summer of 1965, when Eden’s cousin from Mississippi comes to visit her in L.A. just as the Watts Riots erupt, in this stirring new novel by Coretta Scott King Honor winner Brenda Woods.When Eden&rsq...
When Winter Robeson Came Cover
Marley and the Family Band Cover
Author: Cedella Marley and Tracey Baptiste
Release Date: January 04, 2022
A picture book that celebrates music, love, and family from New York Times bestselling author Cedella Marley. A poetic story about a young girl who moves to a new country and learns to make friends—inspired by a childhood growing up with the mu...
Marley and the Family Band Cover
Daddy Speaks Love Cover
Author: Leah Henderson
Release Date: January 04, 2022
A moving tribute to the joy and grounding that fathers bring to their children's lives.On that very first day,    Bundled in blankets,    You cried to be heard.    “Shh, baby bird, I’ve got you,” ...
Daddy Speaks Love Cover
Bedtime Bonnet Cover
Author: Nancy Redd
Release Date: January 04, 2022
This joyous and loving celebration of family is the first-ever picture book to highlight Black nighttime hair traditions--and is perfect for every little girl who knows what it's like to lose her bonnet just before bedtime.In my family, when the sun ...
Bedtime Bonnet Cover
Honest June Cover
Author: Tina Wells
Release Date: December 28, 2021
Middle school is hard—but it's way harder when a fairy godmother puts you under a truth-telling spell!June has always been a people-pleaser, telling harmless little lies to make her friends and family happy. She's convinced being hone...
Honest June Cover
J.D. and the Hair Show Showdown Cover
Author: J. Dillard
Release Date: November 16, 2021
Eight-year-old kid barber J.D. takes his talent to an Atlanta hair show in this illustrated chapter-book series.At only eight years old, J.D. the Kid Barber has already won a barber battle and appeared on local TV. Now he’s the youngest barber ...
J.D. and the Hair Show Showdown Cover
Take Back the Block Cover
Author: Chrystal D. Giles
Release Date: November 09, 2021
"This book made me want to step aside, hand over the mic, and listen to Wes. A must-read." --Mariama J. Lockington, author of For Black Girls Like MeBrand-new kicks, ripped denim shorts, Supreme tee--Wes Henderson has the best style in sixth grade. T...
Take Back the Block Cover
The Swag Is in the Socks Cover
Author: Kelly J. Baptist
Release Date: November 02, 2021
Xavier Moon is stepping out of the shadows when his great-uncle gives him some outlandish socks and some even stranger requests. A story about heart, confidence, and standing on your own two feet that is perfect for fans of The Season of Styx Malone ...
The Swag Is in the Socks Cover
Charlotte and the Nutcracker Cover
Author: Charlotte Nebres
Release Date: October 19, 2021
A reimagined and modern take on the holiday favorite, this picture book weaves together the classic Christmas tale of The Nutcracker and the true-life story of 12-year-old ballerina Charlotte Nebres, the first Black girl...
Charlotte and the Nutcracker Cover
Recognize! Cover
Author: Cheryl Willis Hudson and Wade Hudson
Release Date: October 12, 2021
In the stunning follow-up to The Talk: Conversations About Race, Love & Truth, award-winning Black authors and artists come together to create a moving anthology collection celebrating Black love, Black creativity, Black resistance, and Black lif...
Recognize! Cover