65 results   page 1 of 6   >
view sort by
Juvenile Fiction - People & Places - United States - African American
Maya and the Robot Cover
Author: Eve L. Ewing
Release Date: July 13, 2021
From award-winning author Eve L. Ewing comes an illustrated middle grade novel about a forgotten homemade robot who comes to life just when aspiring fifth-grade scientist Maya needs a friend -- and a science fair project.Maya's nervous about fifth gr...
Maya and the Robot Cover
Becoming Vanessa Cover
Author: Vanessa Brantley-Newton | Narrator: Vanessa Brantley-Newton
Release Date: June 15, 2021
For readers of Alma and How She Got Her Name and The King of Kindegarten, this story will help kids just starting school transform from timid caterpillars into beautiful butterflies so they can love who they are.On Vanessa's first day of school, her ...
Becoming Vanessa Cover
Just Like Me Cover
Author: Vanessa Brantley-Newton | Narrator: Vanessa Brantley-Newton
Release Date: June 15, 2021
An ode to the girl with scrapes on her knees and flowers in her hair, and every girl in between, this exquisite treasury will appeal to readers of Dear Girl and I Am Enough and have kids poring over it to find a poem that's just for them.I am a canva...
Just Like Me Cover
Grandma's Purse Cover
Author: Vanessa Brantley-Newton | Narrator: Vanessa Brantley-Newton
Release Date: June 15, 2021
Spend the day with a grandma and granddaughter in this charming picture book, adapted for audio, about the magic found in their favorite accessory—a perfect gift this Mother's Day! When Grandma Mimi comes to visit, she always brings warm h...
Grandma's Purse Cover
Marcus Makes a Movie Cover
Author: Geoff Rodkey and Kevin Hart
Release Date: June 01, 2021
Stand-up comedian and Hollywood box-office hit Kevin Hart keeps the laughs coming in an illustrated middle-grade novel about a boy who has big dreams of making a blockbuster superhero film. Perfect for readers of James Patterson's Middle School serie...
Marcus Makes a Movie Cover
J.D. and the Great Barber Battle Cover
Author: J. Dillard | Narrator: Tivia Lynnell
Release Date: February 23, 2021
Eight-year-old J.D. turns a tragic home haircut into a thriving barber business in this hilarious new chapter book seriesJ.D. has a big problem--it's the night before the start of third grade and his mom has just given him his first and worst home ha...
J.D. and the Great Barber Battle Cover
Author: Matt de la Peña | Narrator: Dion Graham
Release Date: February 02, 2021
The team behind the Newbery Medal winner and Caldecott Honor book Last Stop on Market Street and the award-winning New York Times bestseller Carmela Full of Wishes once again delivers a poignant and timely children's book that's sure to become an ins...
Author: Laurie Halse Anderson | Narrator: James Fouhey
Release Date: December 08, 2020
For many readers, Forge "will be one of the best novels they have ever read" (starred review from Kirkus Reviews)!Blistering winds. Bitter cold. And the hope of a new future. In this compelling sequel to Chains, a National Book Award Finalist and win...
Author: Misty Copeland | Narrator: Misty Copeland
Release Date: September 29, 2020
In her debut book, Misty Copeland tells the story of a young girl--an every girl--whose confidence is fragile and who is questioning her own ability to reach the heights that Misty has reached. Misty encourages this young girl's faith in herself and ...
Author: Derrick Barnes | Narrator: Joshua David Scarlett
Release Date: September 01, 2020
An upbeat, empowering, important audiobook from the team that created the award-winning Crown: An Ode to the Fresh CutI ama nonstop ball of energy.Powerful and full of light.I am a go-getter. A difference maker. A leader.The confident Black narr...
Author: Kelly J. Baptist | Narrator: Adam Lazarre-White
Release Date: August 18, 2020
A coming-of-age tale about a boy who discovers a love of poetry after finding his late father's journal. Adapted from a story that first appeared in Flying Lessons & Other Stories and perfect for fans of The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson. ...
Author: Laurie Halse Anderson | Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Release Date: August 04, 2020
If an entire nation could seek its freedom, why not a girl?As the Revolutionary War begins, thirteen-year-old Isabel wages her own fight...for freedom. Promised freedom upon the death of their owner, she and her sister, Ruth, in a cruel twist of fate...