54 results   page 1 of 5   >
view sort by
Juvenile Fiction - People & Places - United States - African American
cover_9780593208182
Author: Kelly J. Baptist
Release Date: August 18, 2020
A coming-of-age tale about a boy who discovers a love of poetry after finding his late father's journal. Adapted from a story that first appeared in Flying Lessons & Other Stories and perfect for fans of The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson. ...
cover_9780593208182
cover_9780593155615
Author: Torrey Maldonado | Narrator: Torrey Maldonado
Release Date: April 14, 2020
"STAY IN YOUR LANE." Stephen doesn't want to hear that--he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn't think it's his lane, b...
cover_9780593155615
Author: Nic Stone | Narrator: Dion Graham
Release Date: January 07, 2020
From New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a middle-grade road-trip story through American race relations past and present, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Jason Reynolds.How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma:Gr...
Author: Rebel Girls | Narrator: Adenrele Ojo
Release Date: November 12, 2019
From the world of Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls comes the historical novel based on the life of Madam C.J. Walker: America's first self-made millionaireIn Madam C.J. Walker Builds a Business, Sarah Breedlove (AKA Madam C.J. Walker) reinvents and...
Author: Zetta Elliott | Narrator: Ron Butler, Soneela Nankani and Zetta Elliott
Release Date: October 22, 2019
Stealing a baby dragon was easy! Hiding it is a little more complicated, in this sequel to reviewer favorite Dragons in a Bag.Jaxon had just one job--to return three baby dragons to the realm of magic. But when he got there, only two dragons were lef...
Author: Mariama Lockington | Narrator: Imani Parks
Release Date: July 30, 2019
I am a girl but most days I feel like a question mark.Makeda June Kirkland is eleven-years-old, adopted, and black. Her parents and big sister are white, and even though she loves her family very much, Makeda often feels left out. When Makeda's famil...
Author: Derrick Barnes | Narrator: Sullivan Jones
Release Date: July 02, 2019
A confident little boy takes pride in his first day of kindergarten, by the Newbery Honor-winning author of Crown.The morning sun blares through your window like a million brass trumpets.It sits and shines behind your head--like a crown. Mommy s...
Author: Brenda Woods | Narrator: Asmeret Ghebremichael
Release Date: April 02, 2019
Sally Harrison and her family are slaves on a plantation in Georgia. But when Master decides to sell Sally and her brother, the family escapes to seek shelter with a tribe of Seminoles who are rumored to adopt runaway slaves. After a perilous journey...
cover_9780525628910
Author: Brenda Woods | Narrator: Asmeret Ghebremichael
Release Date: March 26, 2019
On her tenth birthday, Leah receives a surprise gift from glamorous Aunt Olivia, Mama's only sister, who lives in Los Angeles.  It is a red rose box.  Not many people in 1958 Louisiana have seen such a beautiful traveling case, covered with...
cover_9780525628910
Author: Sharon Bell Mathis | Narrator: Allyson Johnson
Release Date: December 04, 2018
Council on Interracial Books for Children award winnerFrom the award-winning author of The Hundred Penny Box comes a sweet story about how one girl can make a difference. Lilly Etta didn't know the men, but she knew those yellow chairs...
Author: Various and Tom Feelings | Narrator: Cary Hite and Allyson Johnson
Release Date: December 04, 2018
"The selections are uniformly uplifting, with affirming messages about the heritage, strength and dreams of African Americans."—Publishers Weekly In this compelling collection, thirteen major poets rise in response to the dazzling vistas a...
Author: Marybeth Lorbiecki | Narrator: Alyson Silverman
Release Date: November 20, 2018
"An African American nun challenges the beliefs of her second-grade students in this thought-provoking book set in the 1960s."--Publishers WeeklySister Anne’s hands are brown, and Anna’s hands are white.   It’s the early 1960s,...