10 results   page 1 of 1  
view sort by
Juvenile Fiction - People & Places - Middle East
Author: Daniel Nayeri | Narrator: Daniel Nayeri
Release Date: March 07, 2023
From award-winning author Daniel Nayeri comes a mesmerizing adventure set along the enchanting Silk RoadThe story begins with a young orphan running for his life. Lucky for him he runs into Samir, a portly huckster whose silver tongue saves the boy. ...
Author: Mojdeh Hassani and Samira Iravani | Narrator: Nikki Massoud
Release Date: February 28, 2023
It's market day for Samira and her grandma! The bazaar is crowded, but this sweet pair knows how to stick together in this silly picture book set in Iran, adapted for audio.Mama Shamsi is off to the market, and today, Samira gets to go with her! Sami...
Author: Deborah Ellis | Narrator: Meera Simhan
Release Date: October 04, 2022
It’s 2021, and the Taliban have regained power in Afghanistan. Parvana and Shauzia, the brave protagonists of The Breadwinner, must now flee to escape new dangers from an old enemy.In Kabul, 15-year-old Damsa runs away to avoid being forced int...
Author: Aisha Saeed | Narrator: Vikas Adam
Release Date: February 01, 2022
“Irresistibly appealing and genuinely inspiring—a story that helps us to see the world more clearly, and to see ourselves as powerful enough to change it.” —Rebecca Stead, author of Newbery Award Winner When You Reach MeIn thi...
Author: Deborah Ellis | Narrator: Meera Simhan
Release Date: December 10, 2019
In this stunning sequel to The Breadwinner Trilogy, Parvana, now 15-years-old, is found in a bombed-out school and held as a suspected terrorist by American troops in Afghanistan.The girl does not respond to questions in any language and remains sile...
Author: Aisha Saeed | Narrator: Priya Ayyar
Release Date: May 08, 2018
"Saeed's timely and stirring middle-grade debut is a celebration of resistance and justice."--Kirkus Reviews, starred reviewThe compelling story of a girl's fight to regain her life and dreams after being forced into indentured servitude.Life is quie...
Author: Haifaa Al Mansour | Narrator: Ariana Delawari
Release Date: September 22, 2015
In the vein of Year of the Dog and The Higher Power of Lucky, this Middle Eastern coming-of-age story is told with warmth, spirit, and a mischievous sense of humor Spunky eleven-year-old Wadjda lives in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia with her parents. She...
Author: Deborah Ellis | Narrator: Meera Simhan
Release Date: September 22, 2009
That was where she needed to be, in a field of purple flowers, where no one could bother her. She would sit there until the confusion left her head and the stink of the camp left her nostrils.Shauzia has a dream. She dreams of getting away from the r...
Author: Deborah Ellis | Narrator: Meera Simhan
Release Date: August 11, 2009
‘My life is dust and rocks and rude boys and skinny babies, and long days of searching for my mother when I don’t have the faintest idea where she might be.’Parvana is alone. Her father is dead. A refugee in a land full of dangers, ...
Author: Deborah Ellis | Narrator: Rita Wolf
Release Date: July 23, 2002
Imagine living in a country in which women and girls are not allowed to leave the house without a man. Imagine having to wear clothes that cover every part of your body, including your face, whenever you go out.In this powerful and realistic tale, e...