23 results   page 1 of 2   >
view sort by
Juvenile Fiction - Social Themes - Poverty & Homelessness
Heroes Like Us: Two Stories Cover
Author: Onjali Q. Raúf |
Release Date: November 15, 2022
From Onjali Q. Rauf, acclaimed author of The Boy At the Back of the Class, come two poignant tales of modern-day heroism, featuring supermarket theives, a visit with the Queen, and plenty of laughs!Ten-year old Ahmet, once known as the "Boy at the Ba...
$20
ISBN: 9780593611951
Unabridged Download
Heroes Like Us: Two Stories Cover
Operation Final Notice Cover
Author: Matthew Landis |
Release Date: November 08, 2022
Told in alternating points of view, this middle grade novel, following best friends Ronny and Jo, is about anxiety, being in over your head, and learning to accept help—even if you don’t know how to askEight hundred seventy-eight dollars....
$23
ISBN: 9780593609811
Unabridged Download
Operation Final Notice Cover
Holler of the Fireflies Cover
Author: David Barclay Moore |
Release Date: September 27, 2022
A boy from the hood in Brooklyn travels to a STEM camp in an Appalachian holler for one epic, life-changing summer. A brilliant new novel from the award-winning author of The Stars Beneath Our Feet.Javari knew that West Virginia would be differe...
Holler of the Fireflies Cover
Haven Jacobs Saves the Planet Cover
Author: Barbara Dee |
Release Date: September 27, 2022
From critically acclaimed author Barbara Dee comes a middle grade novel about a young girl who channels her anxiety about the climate crisis into rallying her community to save a local river.Twelve-year-old Haven Jacobs can’t stop thinking abou...
$18
ISBN: 9780593626696
Unabridged Download
Haven Jacobs Saves the Planet Cover
Author: Varsha Bajaj | Narrator: Reena Dutt
Release Date: July 19, 2022
The riveting story of a heroic girl who fights for her belief that water should be for everyone.Minni lives in the poorest part of Mumbai, where access to water is limited to a few hours a day and the communal taps have long lines. Lately, though, ev...
Author: Sharon Dennis Wyeth | Narrator: Sharon Dennis Wyeth
Release Date: May 10, 2022
For readers of Newbery Winner Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Peña.Everyday a young girl is disheartened by the things in her neighborhood: the trash on the streets, the graffiti on the walls, and the homeless woman that sleeps in a b...
Author: Lindsay Eagar | Narrator: Moira Quirk
Release Date: May 03, 2022
A beautifully crafted middle-grade novel spiced with magic—and gargoyles!—from the acclaimed author of Hour of the Bees and Race to the Bottom of the Sea.Fished from the river as an infant and raised by a roving band of street urchins who...
Author: Linda Williams Jackson | Narrator: Reginald James
Release Date: April 12, 2022
Award-winning author Linda Williams Jackson pulls from her own childhood in the Mississippi Delta to tell the story of Ellis Earl, who dreams of a real house, food enough for the whole family—and to be someone.It’s 1967, and eleven-year-o...
Author: Onjali Q. Raúf | Narrator: Ashton Frank
Release Date: February 08, 2022
What does it take to turn a bully into a hero? Empathy and the power of forgiveness take center stage in this poignant novel by the award-winning author of The Boy at the Back of the Class.Getting in trouble is what Hector does best. He knows that no...
Author: Padma Venkatraman | Narrator: Padma Venkatraman
Release Date: September 07, 2021
“Venkatraman has never met a heavy theme she did not like....Borrowing elements of fable, it's told with a recurring sense of awe by a boy whom the world, for most of his life, has existed only in stories.”—New York Times Book Revie...
Author: Tara Sullivan | Narrator: Gisela Chípe
Release Date: February 23, 2021
A young girl must find a way to help her family survive in a desolate and impoverished Bolivian silver mining community in this eye-opening tale of resilience.Twelve-year-old Ana wants nothing more than to escape the future set for her and her classm...
Author: Danielle Svetcov | Narrator: Emma Galvin and Michael Crouch
Release Date: February 04, 2020
For fans of Rebecca Stead and Joan Bauer comes a scrappy, poignant, uplifting debut about family, friendship, and the importance of learning both how to offer help and how to accept it."A big-hearted novel with characters I wish were my friends in re...